You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Classic, anyone?

in #steem4 years ago

"...there's going to be a split in the Steem network, one that continues the existing Steem chain, and one that moves to Tron."

Not sure about this actually. A 'legacy' Steem would in fact be a new token, since @steemit holds enough Steem to vote in witnesses to effect whatever code Tron seeks to implement.

We'll see what comes, but I am deeply troubled by the prospect of Tron assuming control of Steem. Steem is presently the only vector for my posts. I have been banned, blocked, or unwilling to use other platforms due to censorship issues, and if Tron significantly changes Steem's censorship resistance - which I believe is certain, due to it's dependence on China - Steem will no longer be available to me.

That being the case, I'd like to here and now express my appreciation for all you've taught me during my tenure on Steem. If I get the boot, I will miss your insight and forthright speech.

Thanks!

Sort:  

If there was to be a Steem Classic, it's quite likely Steemit Inc's stake would be burned out. The code for that already exists, written by an ex-Steemit dev last year. (I forget his name)

Amen. Frankly this is much less of a disruption to the network and much smaller of a consensus protocol change than migrating the entire ecosystem to a new blockchain.

does that mean i can swap my steem for some tron tokens AND keep my other forked steem AND we might actually have a decentralized platform?

That depends on when the snapshot is taken. If you swap after the snapshot for forked Steem, then yes.

yes i wanna see some statements from the current witnesses, how many people are actually following them and stuff. i'd have to listen to justin today. i'll wait and see, but i don't like the fact that they're setting up a swap between steem and some other token(?).

Would there be enough drive to build upon Steem Classic? Devs and Witnesses seemed to largely rest on their laurels for their past contributions and farm these days... I don't see them surging to change their stripes after the initial shock passes here.

Good question. This is a bit different as this is the first time there's an existential threat to witnesses. There are many ways to merge Steem with Tron, but one way listed in the original announcement is simply moving all dApps, tokens and infrastructure (including Steemit.com of course) straight to Tron. If that happens, Steem witnesses will effectively be made redundant. So, they have much more motivation to do something about it than ever before.

The fact that Steemit holds enough Steem to control the network is worrying!

The dont appear to use that influence but maybe now under new management it will change.
Maybe that wont be so bad and may even clear a path to achieving wider adoption rather than the shrinking real user base.

I haven't heard this opinion before from someone apparently as experienced and knowledgeable regarding software development (I had a look). Can you provide some basis for your opinion? Mine is based on my understanding of the initial ninjamine, and while Steemit didn't completely dominate that process, combined with certain well-haired former CEOs, my understanding was that it could bring in new witnesses with stake to spare.

Thanks!

You're not wrong, but try to be concerned instead of worried. Worry is bad for your heart, I hear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86