You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: For a better Steem, remove the Steem reward pool

in #steem6 years ago

I am glad to see you coming to this realization. I have been advocating for eliminating stake-weighting for quite a while. In off-chain discussion with @ned, he said he would address the issues I brought up before SMTs were released, and over the months since I became discouraged.

When he did address stake-weighting in his remarks in Korea, I was thrilled, and became eager to eat all my discouraged words.

"With no solutions in sight, the only thing that can be done is - cancel the reward pool."

I practically went apoplectic when I read this! =p Fortunately you went on to discuss various alternatives, and including what I have advocated, simply making upvotes not stake-weighted.

The rewards have proved to be paradigm changing regarding the quality of discourse and engagement on social media, and I see this paradigm shift as critical to the future. I would fain abandon it with the dirty stake-weighted bathwater.

Coupling some form of egalitarian voting, or rep-weighting, with elimination or dramatic reduction in bots and socks, would create organic valuations of content quality, and that is pretty much all I seek in terms of improvements to Steemit's valuations of content.

I have confidence that people are the best judge of what is valuable to them, and considering popularity to be judged by other metrics, such as stake, simply avoids people, society, being the judge.

For better or worse, people are what we are, and our judgement is thus what matters to us.

Thanks!

Sort:  

People have been questioning the stake-weighting right from the very beginning. I hope the noise becomes so deafening now that Steemit Inc and witnesses have to respond in short order.

I'm in the niche of weight loss and health and stumbled in here during the great flood of jerrybanfield in June 2017. At that time, he was pushing the idea of being rewarded for your content while gaining an audience due to steemit's incredible alexa ranking. I have received excellent rewards (comparitive to other places I post) and I have lots of ranking posts now, so that has been a win.

The cost has been a a huge investment of time and effort in "learning steemit." After about 10 years in this game, I can safely say this is the most complicated place I have ever posted - by a far, far margin. All the people I have brought in - about 20 content creators - gave up very quickly and think I'm crazy to be here.

I stay out of all the nonsense at the top end here and rarely follow anything about the future of steemit. But regardless of all the schemes going on. The fact is the we have less than 10K of "people who matter" on this platform.

The minnow kill rate of 95%+ is atrocious. I'm not sure if anything can fix this place when the masses are unable to participate. Every time I see a comparison to the early days of reddit and fb, I do not think it is valid. Those places welcome new users. We kill them when they enter through the door.

I watch this chart by @arcange and it is not a pretty sight. Most of the numbers decrease each time I look. One of them is growing quickly, and I'm sure you can guess which one it is.

arcange number of accounts May 7 2018.PNG

To be fair, a vast majority of Facebook/Reddit/Twitter users are mostly inactive as well.

I am pretty sure they each have more than 10K in active users but maybe not. I'm following some people who are trying to work out global population figures and it turns out - most of us are non-existent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43