Private 📬 Messaging using STEEM dollars💲 and public key 🔐 cryptography

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

Is there a 🔐 cryptologic solution for 📬 private messages on STEEM?


This is over my head a bit, but I wonder if this is the only way to send a cryptologically secure (private) message to a person on STEEM?

Here's the situation. I want to send financial, personal, medical, legal, marriage proposal, 💏 or secret information to you. Everything is public on STEEM, even that 0.001 SBD message I can send you. I found this on an old post, and followed the comments. I am quoting some things here with sources.

It just hit me, I recently received 0.001 steem from someone with a message attached. I'm not sure if that's the minimum you can send but it probably is. If you really need to send a private message, I guess that's not so expensive. And if you're having a private conversation, you can just send that 0.001 back and forth.
Source: https://steemit.com/steemit/@aaseb/private-messaging-in-steemit-is-already-here (Thanks @aaseb)

But that is wrong!

Here's the key comment where encryption is proposed since the 0.001 SBD transactions are public:

You'd have to send them two messages of 0.001 SBD:

(1) "I encrypted my message with your public posting key. Use your private key to decrypt it"

(2) "ADFPOIUNSDFOIWNUNSUDOPA ..." (encrypted message)

Steemit dev's could implement this, and they could implement it without SBDs involved.

Source: @jcweiss comment

How would that even work?

Please comment on this. I don't know all the steps or whether there is an app that is setup to do this type of encryption. But has anyone heard of or tested a way to encrypt private messages between STEEMians?

UPDATE
I have a screenshot to prove the the hash-tag works to make messages private. Here are the private messages I sent and received @papa-pepper (in STEEM), @meesterboom (outgoing STEEM), and @jiva34 (outgoing SBD)

I am asking these three people to reply below and see if their viewing of my Wallet hides these transaction messages.

Here is proof that I sent/received secret messages:

See comments below, or check my Wallet History of Transfers

I am still in my Introduction phase at introduceyourself. See these posts:
PART 1: The World's Most Dangerous Introduction Post History
PART 2: The World's Most Dangerous Introduction Post Background
PART 3: The World's Most Dangerous Introduction Post Spot, the Legend!
#privacy #steemit #blockchain #crypto-news

Sort:  

I have been wondering the same thing. Thanks for asking...

Oh, and anyone not sure about the SBD transfers, send me some money and a "private message" to see what I mean. Now, go into my public wallet, and there it is. Did I mention people should send me money to find this out? @papa-pepper just did so.

Hey! I wasn't transferring an STD!

Fixed typioe. Thanks.

Also, no one else can see the message, because @papa-pepper typed a # first and then the text. I cannot view it from this account. That is the way to private message with a transfer.

Here is a photo of what other accounts can see. The transfer appears, but it is not accompanied by any text. (Meaning that the message is hidden.)

And it's not SBD, but rather STEEM you are transferring? Those things are impossible to remember... until I get some more. Maybe transfer a LOT more to me, and it will help my bad memory. Yeah, just send STEEM, SBD, and SP and whatever else you got. In fact, did you need an accountant?

Ok, I'll send some more STEEM over to help.

I'm rich with funny-money! Thanks.

Ok. And the same thing happens when you view @uruiamme account? The hash tag makes it private?

You have private messaging on the App 'Busy' which interfaces with Steemit. That might help?

That's good to know. Is it accessible from Steemit? Send me a message and I'd like to learn. I might have to run from the computer a bit.

Yeah, you can access it from here

https://busy.org/

You log in and it is a front end for steemit :O)

I've used busy.org a bit. But I was wondering if the messages are seen on steemit.com also? I have a completely different post coming about busy.org.

Hmm, no idea then. I think its only between busy users. There is always Steemit chat

Ok, I sent you funny money as a test using @papa-pepper's method.

I also edited the post above to show you how it works.

Yes indeed I got the message!

thanks for sharing

Since you came, I have updated and improved the answer to my own question. Thanks!

Here is all it takes... One # (Hash/pound sign) in the Memo field. (please upvote if you agree)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64170.07
ETH 3425.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59