Steemit. My five cents about it.

in #steem8 years ago

First of all, I like the idea of getting paid for posting articles and also the whole crypto currency thing. But having used the site for just two days max, I already feel that I am being forced to adopt a standard to actually get noticed on the site.
All the good paying articles come with a photo, citations and video links. Now that per se is not something which I dislike, but to say Steemit is like Facebook that's just absurd.

I know a good article needs some investment of time and effort. The problem I see is that regular people won't get noticed and end up investing too much time into the system believing that they will get paid eventually. Let's face it. That's not going to happen for most people. If everyone would be paid the same, there's would be no incentive to produce quality writings. Plus I can guarantee you that politically correct content will be upvoted in favor for posts that argue outside of mainstream thinking.

Most people will continue to follow their gurus, being glued to the system 24/7 in order to be the first to upvote the newest article thinking that they will make a quick buck that way. In a way it seems like the Pokemon Go game. Instead of virtual points you get virtual coins. Gamification 2.0. Kids get out of the way, the adults are coming.

What I also don't like is competing with pros. I'm not a professional writer. What are the chances of making it once people from online news sites or real news papers come here to post their content?
The Internet as I see it, for me at least, had always had backspaces where people with alternative opinions had their own little niches to withdraw to and counter the mainstream narrative.

So for the future I can see Steemit becoming a feeding bowl for mainstream outlets capturing the initial good idea of being paid as nobody for online content and eventually making it their extra source of income, while the little guy still believes he can compete.
The big guys as usual will take over.

Sort:  

I am on my first day, but having a hard time picturing how this will compete with FB or Twitter or gain mainstream attraction. I need to research their future plans more. Reading about the Whales and the Minnows already has me sad!

Maybe some of us Minnows can create a voting group! :) Good luck on your Steemy Journey, I am still checking it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44