WTH? Both Poloniex AND Bittrex Have Set Their Steem Wallets Offline!? What's The Solution? I Need To Access My Steem Reserve.

in #steem7 years ago

I originally used the Poloniex exchange to convert my Steem into Bitcoins and then Moved them on elsewhere for converting into Fiat Money for daily use... Then Poloniex started shutting down access to steem wallets without proper explanation, so I moved to Bittrex. Today I learned that Bittrex is doing the same thing!

Does anyone know the absolute truth about the cause of all of this? Poloniex say in their website that 'the Steem Team may need to make some updates' before they can reinstate Steem wallets. Bittrex basically just says they are doing maintenance and so the wallets are offline.

Meanwhile, Bitcoin prices skyrocket and Steem is making a recovery - so I need to access my Steem.. I have almost no paper money left!

If anyone knows of an alternative exchange that has good prices for Steem then I'd appreciate if you would let me know ASAP. Thanks!

Wishing you well,
Ura Soul

Steemit T-shirts, Hoodies and Many Other Steemit Inspired Products are On Sale Now


t-shirt
Buy your "Steemit, Dreamit, Memeit, Teamit" T-Shirts, Gifts & Other Clothing Here.


resteem


ureka.org

Sort:  

My guess is that recent posts by witnesses and former witnesses indicate there are issues with scalability that are causing exchanges intolerable expenses regarding Steem.

I don't use any exchanges, but heard of one you haven't mentioned, bitshares. Have you looked at that?

I also note that @dan's projects each was impacted sequentially during the last few days in price. I find that interesting. Anyone have more information on the sequential price movements in EOS, Bitshares, and Steem?

I did see the witness comments too, yes - though I didn't think that they would have such an impact.. However, I don't have any direct experience of how the people who run the exchanges think and operate - so I was just guessing.

I had looked at bitshares and just looked again - it appears they do still support Steem, though I don't know yet if they are actively trading it. I can see that their price for Steem is significantly lower than elsewhere, but at least it's an option - thanks.

The admin at BlockTrades gave me an answer to this issue, I just posted about it.

For the moment I am using Blocktrades. It is the only real option as far as I know.

Thanks, yes - I just used them too. The admin at BlockTrades gave me an answer to this issue, I just posted about it.

When Poloniex and Bittrex both close a currency, it's likely there's a security issue with it. At least in the past it was because of double-spend or other wallet issues. They have also been accused of doing this when there's a run on a coin ( mass exodus/sale).

Steem has been nosediving, but today it recovered a bit - though I am unclear of the causes involved.

The admin at BlockTrades gave me an answer to this issue, I just posted about it.

Where did you get that info about bittrex? Do you have a link?

I just signed in to Bittrex and tried to move Steem into my wallet - the info box informs that their wallets are offline.

I tried to move a small amount of SBD 2 days ago, got the same message. Had to wait about 24 hours for the transfer to complete but it was working yesterday.
Giant pain in the ass.

I see, ok - I'll just keep checking back then.. Currently there is no way for me to initiate a transfer. I just looked around some other exchanges that claim to support Steem, but so far none of them actually does.

I've used Changelly in the past but I heard they also stopped supporting STEEM/SBD recently. Have you tried Blocktrades?

Try that or just wait a day, it may come back up.

I looked at Changelly and yes, they don't list Steem any more. I was just about to research blocktrades because they don't provide much information about themselves on their site.

openledger has a price for steem, but their graph is empty: https://openledger.io/market/STEEM_USD

HitBTC lists Steem, but their price is low: https://hitbtc.com/exchange/STEEM-to-BTC

I found this list of exchanges, but as I said - most of them are no longer supporting Steem: https://www.steem.center/index.php?title=Steem_Exchanges

At least Blocktrades has an account on Steemit and an interest in getting their own steem out!
https://steemit.com/@blocktrades/transfers

Here's a question for you - Bittrex's price for Steem has gone up 25% today and yet their wallets are offline. If no-one can trade then why is the price changing?

Because you can trade it haha
You just cannot deposit or withdraw
https://bittrex.com/Market/Index?MarketName=BTC-steem

From memory, I thought that Bittrex's mechanism for trading is to 'withdraw' to another currency - maybe I am mistaken though.

The admin at BlockTrades gave me an answer to this issue, I just posted about it.

Aha, thanks. I hope it'll work out for you.

I have not tried to withrdaw funds from Steemit account since I've been here but I have used Bittrex to make STEEM deposits to my Steemit account after trading bitcoin for it. The second time I did this was last Friday evening and I had to wait a few days to move the STEEM here because Bittrex had the all too familiar "wallet maintenance" disclaimer next to my STEEM wallet. I think it finally was working Monday or Tuesday but I was frustrated as I was eager to move the funds here so I could power up more.

Sorry I don't have a solution for you but I'm definitely familiar with the problem just going the opposite direction.

I sent Bittrex an email and they just repeatedly sent me the same automated message that repeats their FAQ statement on the issue. Basically, there could be a security risk with the wallets that needs to be fixed.

The admin at BlockTrades gave me an answer to this issue, I just posted about it.

Is this another symptom of an unidentified illness ? Since I came on in June we have dropped from 15th to 21st of top 100 crypto currency's .

There are so many parameters involved in this complex arena that I really don't know exactly what is causing particular changes like that. It could even be that EOS is being launched and people think that Steemit might be dumped.

This post has received a 9.04 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @ura-soul.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66391.72
ETH 3189.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60