VOTE FOR ME! (If You Like) I Am A Candidate For the Steem Foundation Working Group.

in #steem6 years ago

Voting has started for the nominated candidates for the working group that is being set up for the new Steem Foundation - an idea fully supported by @ned and Steemit inc. - I am a candidate and you can help me by going to the Discord voting area, registering and clicking against my name in the relevant place. All help is much appreciated!



For guidance on voting, please see this post.


Who Am I?


Greetings all, I am @ura-soul and have been nominated for the Working Group election.
I have been a software engineer for 36 years and wrote my first program at age 4. I have a degree in applied computing, which is a combination of business management, systems engineering and practical problem analysis / solutioneering. I have worked in numerous industries at all levels, including investment banking software, media companies and a social network startup. Separately, I launched my own social network about 10 years ago focused on healing, balancing and evolving. After seeing the power of Steem’s design and that an intention of it’s design is to support free will, I decided to shift my focus into growing Steem. I aim to integrate Steem into my own social network via an SMT when that becomes possible.

I have been running a witness on Steem for over a year. I also run the community stats site ‘Steem Ocean’ and the Steem onboarding project @steempassport that aims to provide novel methods of scaling user account creation to ensure we can support very large numbers of users moving onto Steem powered sites.

Politically, I most align to voluntarism and am not a fan of divisive agendas and power struggles – I know we can always find a balance that feels good to everyone if we take the right, respectful, steps and don’t move too hastily. I fully recognise that the expansion of Steem requires it’s public image to improve and I’d like to see the unique selling point of ‘proof of brain’ to be reinstated. We also need the economic model in use by Steem powered projects to be more aligned towards generating revenue than on purely distributing rewards.

I currently split my time between helping improve Steem, working for private clients on tech projects, writing my first book (on human and language evolution), keeping healthy (and coaching others) and researching a huge number of different topics with an aim of helping us create the best versions of ourselves.

My Witness Introduction Post
Steem Passport
Steem Ocean
Ureka.org - my Social Network

Wishing you well,
Ura Soul


I am currently among the top 100 in the Steem User Authority Table

Vote @ura-soul for Steem Witness!


vote ura-soul for witness

View My Witness Application Here


(Witnesses are the computer servers that run the Steem Blockchain.
Without witnesses there is no Steem, Steemit, DTube, Utopian or
Busy... You can really help Steem by making your 30 witness votes count!)


steem ocean - diving deep into the blockchain

Find out your voter rank position at steemocean.com!


tribesteemup-orange-banner.png


ureka.org

I run a social network too!

Sort:  

You’ve got my vote!

Posted using Partiko iOS

You got my witness vote. good luck

Oh great, thanks a lot - Always appreciated! :)

I voted for you in the group election. Can you help me understand what the roles & responsibilities of the members of the working group is going to be in the short term and long term? Will there be re-elections ?

Thankyou! I have done what I could to keep up with the agenda of this process, but I am not the best person to ask about what is to come. It seems those who are at the center of things have a plan that I have not heard full details of. I have reviewed the docs uploaded by ned and that's probably the greatest detail I've seen so far - other than some comments in discord.

Here are some quotes from the post on this topic from @steemalliance

"The Working Group's main purpose is to organize the VOTE for the Proposals for Governance and Structure of the Foundation."
"Once the Votes for Structure and Organization for the Foundation are complete, the WORKING GROUP's function and job is complete, and will be disbanded."

And from Discord:

In order to establish the structure, proposals from the community will be gathered in the future and be voted on by the community. These proposals will determine what exactly this foundation is, what it looks like, how it’s run, what positions are needed, how funds are distributed and so on. Once all that has been decided the collected “foundation nominees” will be looked at and depending on the community chosen structure, elections will be held.

So as I understand, the working group is intended to receive ideas from the community about what the Foundation itself should be and how it should operate. They will then arrange votes to decide on the outcome. My understanding is that there is only one election for the working group and the people who are elected into roles/positions in the foundation itself are going to be the ones making the most important decisions.

Love to offer my support, Brother, but not being much of a Discord User the instructions on voting are not understandable.

No problem, thanks for the intent. I just learned that members of the working group can't be in the actual real foundation - so it's maybe not such a big deal if I don't win anyway.

Hi @ura-soul!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.881 which ranks you at #99 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 220 contributions, your post is ranked at #69.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Already voted for you earlier. Good luck!

Well I did!

Best of luck!

Posted using Partiko Android

Highly rEsteemed!

Screen Shot 2019-01-24 at 9.18.08 AM.png

URA!

Great to meet you, I'm a little late on the draw but your name has been popping up here and there and you have a compelling profile! We are quite different but then again, I'm sure we are both UNIQUE by any measure. I have witness votes available, I am this close to "pulling the trigger" my friend :-)

Ahoy! Absolutely - we are unique! Just like everyone else ;)
Oh thanks, I'd appreciate the vote, for sure. I'll follow you in case.

BAM! Gina will notify you momentarily ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71