Creating Community here at steemit

in #steem8 years ago

I am sure plenty of you have begun with steemit recently just like I have, and want to make money through blogging? It is a really cool idea to blog and get paid, but there is a lot of content currently, sometimes too much to process. I just wanted to reach out to everyone and explain some of my tactics for creating a better place to talk and make a little money on the side.

One of the main things I noticed from posting a dozen blogs was that there was $.5 here or $.2 and that was nice. But despite how much time and effort I put into the content it didn't seem like it was noticed despite my hard work. Some articles would be links, others would be photoshopped content, others entire papers about steemit, steem or other issues. These all seemed to have a random number of likes, and money.

One thing that I had noticed on my content was that no one had been commenting. I would say, "Hey, what do you think of this? Or "Please share what worked for you." And a dozen people would like it, $0 would accumulate and that was that. It makes me question the community here at steemit. Are people just in it for the money? Do people want to have dialogue and learn something? Is it just the $10,000 posts that get a barrage of comments, discussions, or disagreements?

I posted some comments to discusses because, well "be the change you want to see in the world" -Gandhi. And after a few I had discussed an API application and a whale upvoted me. I was shocked! It wasn't a complex statement or something mind blowing, it was just a reference to some resources I had found. Not to mention I found it to be a lot more fun to comment on every new post in a certain tag, and have a few dialogues with the content creator than a conversation with myself.

I have now been going through all the newest articles, finding one's that have something to say, and then left my opinion. I can only do this for around 1 hour increments, but I feel a lot better seeing the messages roll in, seeing conversations, and learning about steemit.

My call to action would be for everyone who has even read past the first paragraph. Go to a tag that interests you... pic new and just read and comment. Doesn't have to be positive or agree with someone, but just learn, talk and engage. It creates this community that I don't see being a small blogger. Try to add something to the blog, try to point out something. Not to mention if a post becomes successful, your comment might be the first one that shows up.

This is just something to consider when you decide to post random articles every 5 minutes, or a picture of naked women next to cars. Perhaps just try to comment? Create community. Get rewarded. Learn something. Connect.

Thanks for reading. Hopefully a few actual readers will hear this.

Sort:  

Well said @ungratefulchump. I agree with you.

Excellent post! This is exactly what I do. I enjoy the discussion aspect of many different topics within the #steemit community.

I agree. I would much rather learn something, grow and walk away with a couple buck instead of a really profitable article that has everyone commenting for $$. I want to learn on the lowest levels on this site, everyone has something to say and should be heard, and I want to engage with these people!

Go socialize on slack and make people want to answer your posts :)

Honestly I have not given slack a try. I heard it has been down recently as well. Thanks for the advice and I will certainly give it a go!

Also important: Don't forget to upvote yourself after commenting.

This isn't facebook where this is a self high five. It is actually giving you a chance to profit more from a comment if it produced value.

That will be a minimal reward, but if you want to go ahead. Thanks for the comment!

Thanks for the post! I am here for the connection, the dialogue, the feedback and hopefully, some critiques on my writing. I hope to find more folks such as yourself looking to engage one another.

I am glad to see someone else also wanting to connect with the community. Thanks for commenting!

love this idea. Hope one of your future posts gets $30,000 - brains over beauty <3

I think the way the majority of the community will always vote beauty over brains :) yet still a few of the elite will upvote the brains (like interesting stats, facts etc.)

I don't care for a $30,000 post. I just would prefer a stead income from creating content and having dialogue with people. I think it would be so cool to say hey, I just made $100 learning about bitcoin mining, or any topic. I would rather that than having one of my posts become popular and then I fade back into the shadows.

This is a great post! You nailed it!

So sad that this post only has 34 votes. It says all I need to know about the platform and community here.

Hoped to gain more attention. :)

I'm with you too. I see steemit as an opportunity to connect and learn. Hopefully once it grows, it will be easier to sort out the vapid but big money stuff.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@apocaloptimisto/why-i-m-seriously-considering-giving-up-on-steemit-plus-tits

I can't wait for features such as broken up communities of people connecting about certain subjects. I was hoping it would be a little more like reddit, for example I made an IT post regarding how to fix a computer, and no one seemed interested and I could not find a tag to post it under so I made my own. Thanks for commenting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.97
ETH 3448.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67