Kim Cattrall Says Sarah Jessica Parker 'Could Have Been Nicer' About 'Sex and the City 3'

in #steem7 years ago

sjp-kim-cattrall-satc-810x610.jpg

"I don't know what her issue is, I never have," the actress says about SJP in a new interview.

Kim Cattrall disputed claims she's a "diva" for holding up "Sex and the City 3" and threw some shade at Sarah Jessica Parker in the process.

The internet was thrown into a tailspin last week when SJP revealed a third movie based on the classic HBO series was officially dead, amid online reports that Cattrall's "demands" were holding up the project. "I'm disappointed. We had this beautiful, funny, heartbreaking, joyful, very relatable script and story," Parker told "Extra" at the time. "It's not just disappointing that we don't get to tell the story and have that experience, but more so for that audience that has been so vocal in wanting another movie."

Cattrall later admitted that she had no desire to make another movie in the franchise, but denied her "demands" had anything to do with it.

In an interview with Piers Morgan's "Life Stories" (via Daily Mail), Cattrall explained her side of the story further.

sex-and-the-city-300x250.jpg

"Now at this very moment it's quite extraordinary to get any kind of negative press about something that I've been saying for almost a year of 'no' that I'm demanding or a diva," Cattrall told Morgan. "And this is really where I take to task the people from 'Sex and the City,' and specifically Sarah Jessica Parker, in that I think she could have been nicer."

"Sarah Jessica, she could have been nicer, she could have in some way," she continued. "I don't know what her issue is, I never have."

Cattrall explained that her opinion on another film was "always no and a respectful, firm no."

hefner-feminist-tweets-300x250.jpg

"I never asked for any money, I never asked for any projects, to be thought of as some kind of diva is absolutely ridiculous," she added.

"I remember so clearly making that decision and last December I got a phone call and it was concerning that and I knew exactly, I could feel it, and the answer was simply, 'thank you, but no, I'm good,' Cattrall continued, saying she turned them a second time soon after.

"Months go by, I finish filming, I come back to New York [they say] 'we believe that the period of time you have spent connected to this franchise you really should sit down with one of the creators and they can talk to you about, just talk to you about it,'" she went on. "And I thought to myself, I already know the answer. This isn’t about more money, this is not about more scenes, it's not about any of those things. This is about a clear decision, an empowered decision in my life to end one chapter and start another. I'm 61. It's now."

hocus-pocus-everett-300x250.jpg

Cattrall said that she's fine with them making another movie without her, "if that's what they want to do" and even made suggestions on how the franchise could continue.

"It's a great part. I played it past the finish line and then some and I loved it and another actress should play it, maybe they could make it an African American Samantha Jones or a Hispanic Samantha Jones," she said. "Or bring in another character. It can be another character. This is what I really believe that this franchise needs another point of view and this could be it."

Kristin Davis also spoke out about the movie's demise on Instagram over the weekend, saying she was "deeply frustrated" it didn't pan out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68331.60
ETH 3842.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64