You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'd like to make more of my projects integrate with the steem blockchain... Posting this as a chance at getting a boost from the community

in #steem8 years ago

An example of successful unity game with micropayments - hearthstone. I think the most important thing here is the game itself and only later planning to monetize it. Also, in my opinion, c++ match better for game rendering. Just saying.

Sort:  

Language doesn't have much to do with rendering unless you're talking about CUDA or a direct GPU code. C++ and C# both interface with the same libraries. I program in both, but C++ does me zero good for my Unity needs, but if it is a C++ DLL I could interface with it that way. I'm not a fan of that though unless the DLL provides source code. I code in C++, C and many other languages. I am language agnostic other than I am using Unity which means C++ is not a good choice there when it comes to accessibility by the common person within the engine. Yet C++ vs C# actually has zero to do with rendering quality. Overall speed of code for C++ is generally faster though as there is no intermediate byte code based language, yet that doesn't matter in this case as Unity doesn't use C++ and that is the engine that I (and the majority of indies) am using at the moment. If I were using Unreal then I'd be wanting it in C++. Yet once I see some examples of how it is done in either language I could likely convert it to either type easily. :)

Also I am not monetizing my game. I am not using this feature as a way to make money for the game. I was using it as a potential test subject for linking steem into the game. I personally don't like micropayments. It is unlikely I'll ever make a game that does something like that. Yet, I do like the idea of linking it into steem in other ways.

So I have the game and many prototypes... it is already greenlit. My plan was simply to have an account where I posted updates, stories, and other things based upon what players did that day or week, and if the post gets some SBD I leave that in that account and my code would give players a % of that SBD when they completed single player and multiplayer games. Basically instead of monetization bringing money IN. I would use it to encourage game play by sending crypto-currency out. My game the key to enjoying it a lot is really learning how to play it. It plays a bit different than anything out there. So if there is a way to possibly encourage people to play it numerous times and be rewarded then that is positive for the game.

Though the functions I requested in this post could be used for micropayments as well. So you are right that something like that could be done. That would require knowing the players password by the game to transfer the money to a steem account I think (could be wrong). In my case I'd never need the player's password for steem. I'd simply be sending SBD from the main account and never actually need anything from the player other than their account name.

Oh and thanks for commenting. I appreciate it. Was not trying to be harsh. You did state C++ was your opinion. I am a fan of C++ for some things as well. I actually prefer it to C# as I am one of those crazy people who actually really likes pointers. :) Yet, that doesn't matter since I use Unity and my choices there are C#, Unityscript (hybrid java/javascript), or Boo (variant of python). C++ has some speed benefits. I optimize for speed a lot so I am aware of this. Yet it doesn't actually have anything to do with the quality of rendering. If it did then EVERYONE would be using it. Rendering quality doesn't so much matter which language you are using.

Unfortunately it may be a moot point though if no steem blockchain developers respond to my post. This is a WOULD BE COOL for my game, and some additional marketing for steem/steemit thing. It is not something I need. I really don't have the time or desire to stop my work and switch to learning web coding so unless someone that does the web coding side of things decides they want to work on something with me I'll likely not link the blockchain to my game. It does seem like it would be easy to add later if anyone ever gets around to releasing this info.

I am not a steem blockchain dev, but I do build things that interface with steem. Can we set up a time to talk, or can you just contact me with Google Hangouts? [email protected]

I can probably help you with almost anything at this point. Mostly it is a punishing learning curve.

Yes it may not be for a day or so, but I will definitely reach out to you via Google Hangouts. I am [email protected]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56587.45
ETH 2991.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15