The Jiggly Steem Ad Update

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

After 36 hours it's had over 10,000 views between Imgur, Reddit, Tumblr, Twitter and Embedly.

That's not counting Tumblr and Twitter, but it did go across 7,600+ people dashes, that I know. I don't use Twitter much and generally don't like it, but posted there anyway. I did not expect to get a lot of upvotes on Reddit and I was correct, but not getting any downvotes on Imgur was an unexpected surprise! This many people seeing the word "Steem" was well worth every advertising dollar, which was $0. =)

I did not link to Steemit.com from Reddit or Imgur, figuring people wondering what the hell "Steem" was may be better than appearing to be an advertisement for Steemit. I saw the results someone else had on Reddit by posting a link to Steemit (a mod reprimanded them), so I waited until someone asked about it in comments and then posted a link. So far so good! On Imgur I just gave a one sentence explanation of what Steem was with no link.

If 10% of the 15 year olds who viewed this image searched for the word "Steem" afterwards and checked the site out ... success! ;) In 10 years they will be the major players here on Steemit. I'm well aware that Dan doesn't approve of this type of advertising for Steem (based off his downvote); and frankly I don't care, because the bottom line is ... it works!

I'm invested in Steem and I will use any method to promote it that I know works, especially if it cost me nothing more than 10 minutes of my free time. Getting nearly 10,000 people to view a GIF and wonder what the hell "Steem" is, and possibly come to check it out, far outweighs Dan's downvote here on Steemit in the long run. ;)

Sort:  

Jigglegate

Why don't you like Twitter?
Its current restriction forces to keep the post short and be more precise which is good for the tweeters and for the readers as well :-)
PS
A pod of killer-whales prevails over the biggest in the world blue whale,
but there must be a pod ;-)

Why don't you like Twitter?

Have you seen my rants? I can't rant in 140 characters. ;)

I see Dan must have cancelled his initial downvote with a subsequent upvote, 'cause there's no downvote (-) showing in the 'Votes' drop-down.

This is the post in question : https://steemit.com/steem/@tuck-fheman/the-internet-vs-steem

Dan still dislikes #jiggly-boobs. But I'm going to change all of that one way or another! He will come around once I load this place up with new blood. ;)

He shall come round to the power of the boob :D

While I do agree with the method of advertisement, and the concept behind it...there is a mild issue in that steemit is not a top result when you search for steem. It is on the first page, but without being, really, within the top 3, there needs to be something that directs the attention a little bit more to steemit specifically, I think.

The problem is, if we link to Steemit.com on Reddit, mods get angry and the post is dead. If we do it on Imgur it gets downvoted and the post is dead. The tradeoff is to post a blurb about what Steem is without a link and I'm pretty sure anyone savvy enough to search Google will realize which Steem link is the appropriate link with that information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83