steemwordcloud.com: A simple analytics tool for monitoring social interactions on Steemit

in #steem8 years ago

Lately, there have been many new great data analytics tools for monitoring the Steem network including visualizations of all the transactions, detailed statistics, and price feeds.

A few of these include:

@jesta : steemstats.com
@jabbasteem : steemle.com/charts.php
@discombobulated : steemitx.com
@roelandp : steemstream.com
@jasonmcz : steemprices.com

These are all great tools for performing data analytics on the Steem network. I wanted to develop a helpful tool that focuses more on the social aspect of the blockchain. I also wanted to just dive in and learn more about how the blockchain works and how to interact with it through programming. So I developed a (very) basic tool to look into what people are currently talking about on Steem: steemwordcloud.com.

SteemWordCloud.com: a tool for monitoring the social side of Steemit.

This tool constantly monitors the Steem network for new posts, and presents a word cloud of the 20,000 most recent words posted on the blockchain. I'm hoping that this will give a kind of "global" dynamic view of the network, reveal what's currently being discussed, and just give a feel for the general interactions of us Steemians!

For example, here we see that people are still by-and-large constantly discussing all things Steemit: steem, steemit, votes, whales, posts, people, content, interest. As the network grows and the userbase expands, it will be interesting to see how the overall discussion changes on the network.

I'm hoping that this might help us to understand what our users are discussing, or at the very least be a neat little app to try for 5 seconds. In either case, it's been mostly a learning experience for me, learning to work with the blockchain, and it has been the first step towards me learning to design more powerful apps to run on Steem.

Feel free to check it out!

Trogdor :)

p.s. If the website crashes, don't hate! It's running on like a $20 cpu :p

Sort:  

I'm surprised that the word whale isn't more like a whale. :D

I think the wordcloud accurately reflects the sentiment of the network. Everyone is trying to learn about steemit, upvotes, power of votes, whales and which parts of the day or which people influence content most

I can see it coming to a state of being 'external content driven' rather than steemit centric in the coming months. Once the steemit price and growth is less volatile, we'll reach calmer waters where minnows and dolphins take over the role of whales in guiding the ship.

Good points. I'll be excited to stick around and see how things evolve around here.

Great work. This is using piston under the hood?

Correct! Using python to parse the stream from piston and send to database. JS then makes the cloud.

Hey! You released this while I was mid-stroke on my interpretation of this kind of tool. I would love to check out yours, but it's timing out on me :( .... Anyways, let me know when it is back up, and in the meantime, check out Steem.Cloud and its companion release post. Cheers!

I love word clouds, they definitely do give an understanding of what is on users minds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66