You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WHAT CAN WE DO TO INCREASE THE VALUE OF STEEM - Part One - THE CURRENCY STEEM

in #steem8 years ago

While I agree with some of your content here, I disagree that we need to be focusing on growing the platform to sell to advertisers.
If that was the plan, we would already have ads, and the site would suck.
No ads is one of the main drivers for me being on the site. I'm free from holding my had out for the advertising buck.

I get paid for MY content, not the content of the ads.
I think once the ads come in, the site will do well for a year or so and then everyone will leave because it will be just like Facebook - a wall of ads and ads masquerading as content.

Dare to dream of a site not tied to the advertising dollar. Difference is valuable.

Sort:  

Then where does the value of STEEM come from?

I don't disagree with what you say. I have AdBlock on for a reason. I don't watch cable for a reason. But nothing is free. Most of the time you engage with content on the web, it's was put there, or facilitated by, someone trying to make money.

And who is paying you anyways? Where does the currency come in that allows me to buy groceries. The only reason people are buying steem now, is because they think it will be worth more in the future. You can't actually do anything with it directly.

At least with steam the advertising is overt, and regular people are getting paid for the content they provide. Unlike reddit, which has been usurped by covert advertising scemes.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67982.33
ETH 2624.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68