You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can we get Steem listed on Coinbase? Our odds may have just gotten better...

in #steem6 years ago

I’d love to see Steem listed on Coinbase however I fear with the lack of wallets available to hold Steem in (other than a Steemit account) it may be a bit soon.
Hope springs.........

Sort:  

Not sure what you mean here... many other exchanges have steem wallets and a steemit account is always available if needed/wanted.

Both true, however it’s not wise to trust the custody of your coins to an exchange, and while I’m a fan of the Steemit platform I doubt that investors who steer clear of social media like me before Steemit will bother opening an account just to hold coins
I believe serious adoption of the token will be dependant on people being able to hold them on a smart phone app wallet.
I may be wrong, it’s been known 😂

Couple things:

If Steem were to get listed on Coinbase the benefit would be that people would have a direct fiat on/off ramp in the US. Currently there are none.

People would not be holding their steem on Coinbase, just using to get steem in and out of steemit or any other app on steem.

In regards to holding steem on steemit, if steemit were to go down you could always access your coins through a different front end as long as you have your private keys, so I don't necessarily share your concerns about needing a smartphone app wallet.

Though, overall, it would be a net positive to have one.

I don’t disagree with your thoughts dude.
IMHO we are a while away from a mass adoption of crypto currencies, when that happens the non institutional less tech savvy investors are going to need simplicity. I bought Steem through a Freewallet app about 6 months before I joined the platform, since then Freewallet have dropped Steem which I saw as a lack of confidence in the token.
The easier a coin is to buy and hold in your own possession for a crypto novice the more likely they are to invest.
FYI I’m not advocating for Freewallet, I think they’re dodgy.

Oh yea more wallets would always be nice. Though, most likely them dropping it had to do with the cost of hosting a steem wallet. That still needs to come way down and is part of the reason exchanges haven't been jumping up and down to add steem. That or most steem users being on steemit could also have been part of it :)

What about Vessel desktop wallet and esteem mobile wallet?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59073.90
ETH 2519.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48