Google is a tyrant - Letting off some Steem

in #steem7 years ago (edited)


Let me start off by saying this article has less to do with what I'm on Steemit to talk about and more to do with Steemit itself.

I am a content creator and a video teacher. I have chosen to specifically focus on creating and training in the Travel Video Genre of things. Naturally i'm always on the lookout for new platforms to upload video content and get the word out there. While watching a video on Youtube to better understand what a BlockChain is and if i should be more involved, I stumbled across the word "upcoming DTube". Naturally while i was already on an information quest, i continued my search in this direction. It led me to Steemit. I was not convinced. People using it all seemed overly enthusiastic and all my research ended with things like "unstable" "not user friendly" & "a potential ponzi". I was going to just drop it and move on, but something was off. Then it hit me.

Anything trying to threaten Google or its subsidiary enterprises like YouTube is not going to be promoted within the Google Universe of the internet. Suddenly, I was confronted with a conflicted yet enlightened sense of Oh Shit.

I realised in that moment that everything I know and do on the Internet is either within the Google Cluster or the Facebook Solar System. I don't even know the internet. I browse on Google Chrome, I email in Gmail, I search videos in YouTube. Everything I do is here. And if that is the case how am i supposed to get an unbiased opinion of a new "outside of Google" platform like DTube. I mean sure, it's layout, search and other things are no where near as good as YouTube, but everything has to start somewhere. I couldn't let this go and i wanted answers. So i did the only thing I know (heard it on a video about the dark web) I downloaded Tor Browser. I fished around a little more and came up with people who felt the same way, about Google that is. I couldn't find anything specific about Steem or it's trustworthiness but decided what the hell, give it a chance. I believe in the system it desires to be. So here is to the naysayers and the tyrants that keep smaller fish from growing, lets give this the time of day it deserves.

On a closing note, I don't believe Google is evil or doing anything wrong. I think they are a company that has been given too much power by the people. But they earned it by providing great products. They have earned the trust to be a tryant in the western world of internet things. The only thing i see wrong is that people, like me, are so blissfully unaware of the impact is has on decisions we make in the real world. The internet is changing everything about the world and it is up to us to trust our selves and not what Google spits out. They are just a self serving entity, like all of us.

Ok that was it. My little entry rant.... letting off some steem as it were. I will be focusing more on my topic of interest from now on: Travelvids. If you would like more rants about things let me know in a comment, i could muster up a few more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57178.77
ETH 3095.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12