You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hardfork 20 (“Velocity”) development update

in #steem7 years ago

I like that it create a larger incentive for smaller stake holder to own more Steem.

I find 1.219 SP to be quite an odd number.

Sort:  

I find 1.219 SP to be quite an odd number.

The actual number is the rshares of the previous dust limit, I think something like 50000. 1.219 is an estimate of the amount of SP you would have to have for your vote to add that number of rshares.

So can you confirm that the fee is a flat rshares fee? That would be a great change in my opinion.

Yes what is done now is to subtract STEEM_VOTE_DUST_THRESHOLD (an rshares quantity) from each vote.

Great! That sounds like a good plan.

@smooth and @reggaemuffin is there somewhere that you can point me to that explains all the backend language? I'm trying to understand a bit more about it so I can help out.

It is a lot, so there are many posts on it but not one that explains everything. It would be too long and too complicated.

@inquiringtimes has a contest that is looking for topics that are lacking information. And if you ask around, people will help :) the more specific, the better.

Nice comment sir

😊👍 @smooth
And great post by @reggaemuffin

I like that it create a larger incentive for smaller stake holder to own more Steem.

Definitely! And it has the potential to discourage vote spam, which I very much like. It is just a really small number and so I have no idea if we even notice the change...

I find 1.219 SP to be quite an odd number.

It is probably one of the calculated limits? Maybe 1 SP added to 0.2 STEEM creation fee or something like that. I'll check the code in a bit to see if there is a reason for that number.

Edit:

https://github.com/steemit/steem/issues/1764#issuecomment-350313957

Seems that is where that number comes from.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59404.52
ETH 2610.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41