You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My HF21 after thoughts and impressions of new steem trending page

in #steem5 years ago

The economics have changed since the last hardfork and it's no longer as expensive fighting abusive voting behavior.

I don't believe a vote buying system that pays people to advertise is in the best interests of this platform. People who profited from buying votes in the past unchallenged now run the risk of getting burned, and in doing so should think twice about purchasing votes in the future.

Sort:  

Not sure how me using bidbots to make my post more visible is an abusive behaviour. Whales can self upvote their posts to make their posts seen, but minnows don't have that opportunity. So some of us have to use bidbots for that. It's not that I'm making some lame content and just getting it artificially upvoted to earn money. I have in fact stopped posting for a while now. But whenever I do write, I want it to be seen and not just vanish into the darkness. Bidbots is a great way to do that. If a section of steemians don't want bidbots, then they should discuss this with bot owners instead. Instead of grinding us minnows in between. This only increases toxicity in the community. You want more people to use Steem or even less.

Seeing this coming from a popular content creator kinda surprises me. If tomorrow a meme post of urs gain hundreds of $, would you downvote it or like if someone else downvoted just coz they feel it is overrewarded.

The irony is that we have anarchists in here who don't want government, police or army and then they try to dictate and police whenever given a chance. Anyways, thanks for the explanation. Peace.

You can use bidbots. I'm free to downvote posts that use them and make it less profitable for them and their delegates to maintain a profitable enterprise which I believe undermines honest voting and harms this ecosystem as a whole.

Well, that's fine. But I do have to say that in crypto world, profits is the main motivation for most people. If people can profit a bit from the ecosystem, then they are more inclined to invest and lock their cryptos. Making it unprofitable for bitbot projects and their delegates will only drive them to dump their stash even more. I didn't use bidbots for profit, but when people like me see that I can't make my posts more visible then it will certainly discourage me to choose steemit as the first platform for posting my content. Anyways, I hope your efforts work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94