You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dust threshold: still learning about the Steem ecosystem!

in #steem6 years ago

Just don't get your hopes up too much, Steemit is like becoming a professional football player, not impossible but highly unlikely. Like all things, the early adopters make the most out of it, two years in now... it's just ticking along. It's like buying Bitcoin and thinking it's going to increase 10,000% it's just not going to happen. Should have bought it 5 years ago, you've missed the boat now.

I'm not trying to discourage you at all, just trying to inject some realism. Everyone comes to Steemit now thinking they're going to strike it rich, become the next internet sensation but it's just not going to happen. I write because I like writing and only come here to chat to people, even now I earn about $0.30 on average per article, and I've written quite a few. And as I recently discovered my votes aren't worth a curation crap either.

Keep at it and you might get a large following and earn some spare change out of it, but the days of using Steemit to earn an income are long gone I think, everyone missed that train.

Sort:  

I get where you're coming from. It's always a good thing to be realistic about your expectations. Cautiously optimistic is the boat that I'm in right now. And until the time I spend on this platform becomes counterproductive, I'll just keep at it. At the very least, I get to practice writing and discover new people along the way.

that's the best way, completely forget about the money side and just concentrate on the social, hopefully in time things will work out in your favour.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65546.28
ETH 2666.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90