How much Steemit upvotes are worth:

in #steem8 years ago

So I was spending some time yesterday to understand how Steemit works, and I have a pretty good idea. One of the things I explored is how much Steem power someone needs to have in order for a post to get thousands of dollars worth of "upvotes."

Basically what I determined is, you get give approximately 1/130,000th of your capital for upvotes. Correct me if I'm wrong but this seems to be the case.

Thus, someone who gets $1000 in upvotes has to have roughly $130M worth of Steem power to do that.

I determined this by figuring we have 40 upvotes to give per day, multiplying that by days in the year, and then splitting it up equally over 10% growth (as I read the amount of Steem divied out to content creators is 10% of total capital per year).

Is this correct?

Sort:  

I think it varies. One person I know who has had similar steem power for days gives between .02 and .05 for a vote. I would guess steem price and distribution of steem power play a role.

Would be interested in knowing that as well. Is there any documentation that might cover this?

Congratulations @tommyeconomics! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44