The Great Reward Pool Rape Debate: A minnows perspective on the @berniesanders vs @haejin 2017 Steemit BeefsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

I won't summarize the debate because I believe that @pawsdog has already done a great job of doing that here. I just wanted to give you the perspective of a newly minted minnow that happened to swim by when all of the commotion was happening.

The "@haejin still raping the reward pool! title" was really catchy and like the minnow that I was I took the bait and clicked the link. I was quickly reeled into the audience. The sad thing is that I started to read through all of the post and the drama and it caused me to lose trust in the platform. I didn't lose trust in the platform because I was taking a specific side.

I feel like I am pretty neutral. I am new to the platform and I have only been on here for 2 days. When I read the Bernie article I had only been on Steemit for 2 hours.

Imagine being in a new country for the first time as an immigrant and within two hours of being in the country you see people rioting. I know people here can't really break rules so much because the feature of the platform limits the types of behavior possible, but people are really abusing the features of the platform in order to assert their will and what you see coming out of this is very anti-social behavior.

I am talking about both the abusive use of flagging and the ability of individuals to use their influence to funnel a huge chunk of the rewards pool towards a single individual.

I didn't dig too much into the comments because I felt that going into the comments might make me biased. I decided to do my own independent research by using steemworld.org and steemd.com to track exactly how much influence people have and how much that influence translates into their ability to shift the rewards within the site. What I discovered is a little concerning.

I won't bother posting charts, graphs, and other forms of evidence because I feel what I have to say is pretty simple. I get that having steam power is like having equity in the platform and I get that the people that have the most steam power should have a vested interest in the platform, so it makes sense for them to have more influence, but as a new person on Steemit my expectations were that Steemit was supposed to be a little different from the real world. I have nothing against capitalism. I am an economist by trade and I can defend the virtues of the free market with the best of them, but I also understand the limitations of the free market.

I am not advocating for communism, but I didn't expect to come here and see some of the worst aspects of the free market being played out in front of me either. There is a side of me that doesn't blame the people and would rather blame the system, but all systems have limitations and when the systems reach their limitations that's when human decency needs to step in. There will never be an economic system, system of law, or software platform that can end assholery, therefore there will always be a need for the culture and the community to step in and make people better.

That is my for what its worth.

Sort:  

The problem would be disproportionate reward for people who don't contribute. However, if you read the postings being so heavily criticised for receiving too much, you will find that they tend to be content rich and well written. The whole platform depends on people contributing and people voting to support further contributions by that author. Quality content brings votes and money, which seems to be what is happening.

maybe, it depends on what one considers to be quality.. I do a ton, write well and am rewarded not for the most part..I think much has to do with what social clique you are in around here.. @pawsdog

I am starting to notice that myself. I noticed that there are people who come to a post and upvote a comment and they don't even upvote the content itself. The comment that gets upvoted is usually something generic like "great post, keep up the good work".

I would think you would upvote the content if you are going to upvote reply comment. The only time I would think that you would upvote a comment without upvoting the original post is if you disagree with the original post and you think the comment a strong counter to the original post.

My critique is not really about the person in question or even this particular incident. My critique is about the broader implications of this incident. I think that is why this incident is polarizing people. There is something deeper here.

The concern is that people can lose trust and trust is the foundation of all currency. Check it this article:

https://steemit.com/steem/@netuoso/technical-analysis-proves-that-steem-will-either-go-up-or-down-click-here-to-see-more-charts-provided-free

I feel like it illustrates the absurdity of what can happen if people feel like just being ridiculous.

You should check out the abuse of the booster bidbot. People getting massive upvotes for free just on a single photograph pic that's probably stolen.

I need to check this bot out. Thanks for bringing it to my attention. I was surprised to find bots operating out in the open. That is strange to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45