Andreas Antonopoulos and the Steem blockchain

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

andreas.jpg

A few days ago, I saw this video where Andreas Antonopoulos is asked what his opinion is about Steemit. I am happy to see someone asking him this question. You can see the video below:

The video is only a few days old, I don't know how recent the recording is though.

Having said that, it does look like Andreas knows very little about how the Steem blockchain works. And I don't blame him for that. But it does show that the Steem blockchain and DPOS (Delegated Proof-of-Stake Consensus) is still not being taken seriously. Although this protocol has been able to do more transactions than Bitcoin or Ethereum.

Not many people are watching. Most of the attention is going to Bitcoin and Ethereum. I do understand this and, once again, I don't blame people for not having looked in to how the Steem Blockchain works. But in my opinion, this shows that Steem is still a hidden gem.

I wanted to address one specific comment Andreas makes in the video. He says that when people tell him about Steemit, they mention that he could make a lot of money with it. And he explains that this makes him skeptical and he is probably off putted.

Now I want to pick up on that and explain that the selling pressure for Steem is a lot lower than it is for Bitcoin.

Why is that?

Well... The Steem blockchain is already operating on a proof-of-stake algorithm. This means there is no mining being done by computers. With Bitcoin there is ONLY computer mining. This also makes it so that there are real costs (electricity bills, etc.) that need to be paid when mining Bitcoin.

There is no such cost when "mining" on the Steem blockchain. Mining on the Steem blockchain is done by creating and curation content.

Mining Bitcoin has fixed costs: mining equipment and energy usage. Mining on the Steem blockchain doesn't really have fixed costs. It has a few variable "costs": the time you take in creating and curating content. As long as you have a computer and an internet connection, these are the only tools you need to "mine" Steem.

So Andreas, when you hear people telling you that you could make a lot of money on Steem. That person is probably not the best person to listen to. But he or she might still be right though, you could probably make good money on Steemit. Having said that, you should understand that the Steem blockchain is not a get-rich-quick scheme. If anything, it is a better and cheaper type of blockchain solution.

The above paragraphs should make it clear that the selling pressure on the Steem blockchain is actually a lot lower than with a Proof of work type of blockchain Bitcoin is operating on. Next to that, the Steem blockchain already has a built-in token to channel the selling pressure on the platform. This token is called the Steem Backed Dollar. The token is liquid and is designed to be par with the US dollar. But studying how the Steem Backed Dollar works is a topic for another article.

Anyhow...

After writing 'Mastering Bitcoin' and 'Mastering Ethereum', let the next title be 'Mastering DPOS'.

That'd be great!

Keep you posted,

The Monetary Few

Sort:  

DPOS is not widely used in many coins and I think that many people are sceptical of the steemit blockchain and are only putting their trust in things that already work like Bitcoin and Ethereum and they are not willing to put their trust into something that sounds too good to be true but the thing is the steemit blockchain is something that thrives and DPOS in my opinion seems to be more efficient than other systems.

I agree with what you have to say @themonetaryfew and we may just have to give it time and let the community build before the big dogs start promoting it and coming in.

I totally agree!

We will have to see how well the community feature will work with the Steem blockchain, and if it will help to make the community grow. In an interview, Ned said the community feature should transform the Steem Blockchain from a "small city where everyone knows each other to a big city where every skyscraper is its own community". (I'm paraphrasing)

I can see this happening, certainly!

And of course, we have to wait to see if EOS will be able to be relevant in the smart contract space.

Time will tell, but I'm excited!

Having said that, it is still curious to see that a lot of blockchain experts now very little next to nothing about how DPOS works.

I can see this definitely happening. We already have a small rich community and the future is forming peoples individual groups where people can express their same hobbies and interests and people can fit in somewhere rather than chucked into uncharted waters.

People like you are the ones who add value to the community and give me the vigour to carry on with steemit. Thank you so much for your support and I feel bad when I see you upvote me on steemnow but I can't express my thanks in any way. (That is why I want a private message system). It is incredible how much you have motivated me and all I can say is thank you so much @themonetaryfew!!!! <3

Nice post. This happens to me quite often, when I see prominent figures on youtube (especially in the crypto space) and I wonder: "How are they not on Steemit? Somebody should tell them!" Recently I saw Max Keiser becoming active on Steemit which is exciting since he has a lot of followers so I think it is just a matter of time before more 'big names' bring their following over to Steemit. I've seen quite a number of people who got onto Steemit to 'make some money' but then realized that the Steemit community is actually so much more than that

Totally agree!

Hey @themonetaryfew! I saw the video too and I generally like Antonopoulos (and proud to be Greek when I see what he has accomplished!) but this was a bit surprising! Thank you clearing stuff out between bitcoin and steem (and mining for that matter) I'm quite new to this (to Steemit andcryprocurrencies in general) so I take in everything I learn like a sponge! I'm sure there's more in your blog about all that so I'm following, trusting the student of money;) Oh and upvoted, obviously (even though my voting power... oh well! Haha)

Thanks! I appreciate the comment!

The fact that there is way less selling pressure with a blockchain like Steem compared to Bitcoin is also something that only hit me a few weeks ago only.

Let's see where this experiment will bring us! ;)

You're welcome! And yes, I'm also eager to see what's going to happen soon! Something I forgot, resteemed ;)

I texted you on steemit chat about a week ago but seems you never saw it - so I'm commenting here, just in case ;)

Hi, only seeing this now.

The notifications don't always show when I get replies on Steemit.

I was trying to log in to steemit chat, but I didn't manage to get in. I changed my laptop and I don't remember the password I used.

I will try to log in again in the next days :)

I'll be waiting :D I hope you will receive my message (maybe because you will do it from the start, you won't get it) but anyway we'll talk :) Have a great day and week! :D

I have sent you a message via the chat on busy.org

A bit easier than with Steemit.chat, as you can use the chat function directly via the website.

Thanks brother for your useful information share

I love Steemit!! I'm a Chatty Cathy and talking to strangers is something I love to do.

Ты кто вообще такую ахинею писать????...полный бред...

You're the one who can make a smart desicions !

Займись изучением сначала,..потом озвучивай мысли вслух..,..а на дешевый маркетинг парь сопливых,...

Andreas Antonopoulos is a smart guy. I just started listing to him recently.
I have been buying food and goods with cypto now days. It use to seem magical, now it's starting to be just a normal way of life ;)

The main reason why i love steem. No transaction fee

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17