With a little help from my friends ....steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago

So, my better half believes I am wasting my time here on Steemit because I have never (in almost a year) taken anything out. So I promised to take a few pennies out to show her it is not a scam.... so I sold a little Steem, got some SBD's ... and hit a brick wall.


image Credit

How on earth does one get SBD onto one's wallet or exchange ????? see Dwight...I have a question mark ..or three

Plain help would really be appreciated...... I need to prove a point here!!

Sort:  

Thank you fantastic community .... so it was indeed simple. The MISSING bit of information is the @ user for destination can be the exchange name .... not neccessarily another Steemian !!!

calexxx39 · 1 hour ago

yes the user in this case is bittrex and that memo is unique so only for your wallet if in doubt try a little bit first like 0.50 sdb it should work

image credit
I am jumping with ...errrr... Joy
I have irrefutable proof that I can withdraw tangible assets..STEEM ON !!!

Errrrr, I started a power down... if I 'stop power down' will this leave everything as is? I don't want to power down before July 2019

Just cancel then won't do anything.
Glad i could help out here

Options are exchanges like Poloniex and Bittrex, there is also a direct exchange to whatever currency you want through Shapeshift, see here on Steemit @Shapeshiftio

You can alternately just buy a gift using Steem or SBD, check the Steemshop hashtag, look on http://duosear.ch as all the items there can be bought with Steem and SBD using OpenBazaar.

Apps on your phone like eGifter and Gyft accept Bitcoin, so you can use Shapeshift to use your Steem or SBD to use any of the many many gift cards available, including Amazon.

Thanks ... I just wanted to get it to Bittrex... but will explore those options and make a choice.

My bad, I overanswered the question, I got this post with a bunch I have been seeing today. Here is a link for a tutorial on specifically Bittrex https://steemit.com/bittrex/@blocktalk/how-to-send-steem-dollars-from-steemit-com-to-bittrex-exchange

Thanks {clicks on thread...}

When I click transfer I only get "Transfer to Account" which is for another Steemit acccount...

If I remember to today I am going to figure out what is or isn't missing from that guide, I usually use Poloniex with no issues, and I figure Bittrex would be the same but maybe that tutorial has something off. I posted that specific link after just browsing over the guide quickly, but I did not use it personally step by step to maybe see if they worded something wrong or maybe even something within Bittrex itself is different since the person posted the guide.

No problem ... I appreciate the feedback. The community was fantastic and I got sorted. I am sure my lady will indulge my passion for Steem in future.

I just recently took out my first sum of Steem Dollars to try out this process as well. This guide was quite helpful - https://steemit.com/steem/@mctiller/step-by-step-guide-sending-steem-dollars-to-bitcoin-to-ususd-via-blocktrades-and-coinbase

...thought I'm not sure Blocktrades is the best rate for exchange at the moment. Nevertheless, a good step is to sign up for a Bitcoin wallet at the moment, I use Coinbase which also allows me to track prices and use a debit card that I'll be receiving soon.

Hope this helps!

Great, that thread looks like what I was looking for...thanks a stack @hansikhouse

You got my vote because you quoted my favorite TV character, Dwight Schrute! And I'll be following you too!

Cool.... thanks Sweetpea and I gave you 7c for taking the time out to respond to me as well as follow...

I'm curious also. I'm not taking anything out, but I would like to know.

If in doubt, withdraw liquid Steem.

good question.
I'm at that point myself.

There are plenty of videos if you use the search function on the site

Thanks @kyriacos ... will do so. Each tutorial I have read suggested on this thread does not work or in the case of the Blocktrades one makes assumptions ..

That is the only 'transfer' option I have

So you want your coins from steemit to an exchange?
If your at bittrex select bitcoin markets search for steem.
go to sbd and at the top you see timeline orderbook and wallet
generate a new wallet with that you can go in you're own wallet and send the coins to the exchange with the memo generated in the wallet.

Hope this helps if this is what you want to achieve here

I did that, got my memo on Bittrex but where on Steemit do I do a send / transfer ...It asks for another @nnnnn user.
The response to this question has been phenomenal, thanks all.

yes the user in this case is bittrex and that memo is unique so only for your wallet if in doubt try a little bit first like 0.50 sdb it should work

Only saw this now.... ok, I try a teensy weensy amount first

Let me know if this worked for you.

Check my reply at the very end of all the replies {smile}

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84