You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Question for Steem experts........

in #steem7 years ago

Yes I realize curation awards are minimal but they increase with steem power too. I read today they are making the voting curve lineal therefore wouldn't it be fair to say then that if I had 10x the steempower I do now that I would earn ten times steem overall assuming I maintain current quality of content?

Sort:  

I used to have 10x the steem I do now and I still don't make shit from curation. I'm not going to give you false hope. If it happens awesome, but I wouldn't bank on it. If you want to invest in steem then invest in steem, but anyone telling you that having X amount of steem = X income is lying to you and not being honest. I won't just tell you what you want to hear.

Again I realize curation is a minute portion of potential income here although the hidden value is of course that those you upvote at times hopefully upvote you at times. Either way throw out the minimal curation awards and assume prolific content creation. LOL- I'm not looking for promises from anyone nor do I have pie in the sky expectations of anything- I was merely wondering what an educated guess might be. Don't worry I won't sue for poor career counseling. : )

My advice is the same, if we aren't factoring in curation rewards, which I don't, then how much steem you hold is pretty much irrelevant. Look at the introduce yourself post section and see all of those accounts with borrowed steempower that haven't even become "vested" yet. In my mind, the only thing I would consider is author rewards at this current time. Author rewards should be easy to hit a few hundred bucks a week on, but to replace a salary like that, I think your expectations are higher than you think. For me to be able to survive off steem as an income source I got rid of 90% of my bills and said "if I end up homeless I don't care" and I just went all in on it. I don't make a huge amount of money here, but I don't really spend money much either. It's kind of "what are you willing to give up to have a life where you aren't working as a slave for someone else."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 59696.83
ETH 2363.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55