I bought lunch with SBD today!

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1841.jpg

Yesterday and today I made my first real world peer to peer transactions with Steem. Thanks to my good friend, @thirdwavepete, I was able to trade my SBD for coffee and lunch. Pete and I have been friends for just over 7 years now; he was one of the first guys that really welcomed me to Michigan and helped me navigate my way around a new culture and world here. His coffee shop has been a place of refuge for me over the years, and I'm glad I will no longer have to drain my bank account to afford his coffee 😜. I'm super psyched he's on Steemit and joining the crypto revolution by accepting Steem/SBD.


We ordered a decaff americano, a cinnabon, a grilled cheese with a bowl of tomato soup, and a caprese sandwich. All were very delicious and were made with fresh ingredients in house.

IMG_1836.jpg

IMG_1846.jpg

@thirdwavepete roasts his own coffee, and I'm trying to convince him to sell his beans for Steem online, fingers crossed! Stop by his blog and show him some love!

Sort:  

Can you put a price on something when you were introduced to actually good coffee? You're welcome.

No...no you cannot. ☕️

he's accepting sbd/steem? that's awesome!! thanks for sharing:) and the food sure looks good !

Yeah, it’s amazing what can happen when we share the things we’re passionate about. The food was really good, he just opened the kitchen recently. I’m trying to sell him some of my homegrown tomatoes for Steem this summer 👍🏼

Ah Love it!!! way to go @theferalone <3 may there be much more of this :)

I got paid in steem to do some plumbing work the other day. This is how we make it happen.

So awesome! This is getting shared! Makes me smile :)

that sandwhich looks amazing! do you deliver to the uk @thirdwavepete? lol

Keeping the sandwich fresh may be an issue :)

Excelente amigo, ese es el camino que todos debemos seguir, mucho éxito.

Excellent! Would love to know how he does his accounting: I'd love to sell my vegetables for crypto but have no idea how to go about it...

He hasn’t gotten to that point yet. It’s more like a peer to peer fiat for SBD situation at the moment. He pays for the food cash, and I send SBD based on coinmarket cap.

From what I gather, you’ll just need to record the value of the crypto received at the point of sale and count it as income. Any losses or gains that are “cashed out” into fiat will need to be tracked as well.

You can always avoid reporting it as long as the gov doesn’t know your accounts. When you cash out though, you’ll need to count it as capital gains.

Haha love it, that’s great :) enjoyed the story

How exciting @theferalone! I love when one reality meets the other! Hope you enjoyed that cinnabon!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64159.10
ETH 2771.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66