My Take on Steemit, Why It's Better

in #steem7 years ago

I'm admittedly a rookie with cryptocurrency and even more so with Steemit.

But with people like @shayne posting advice, I'm gaining understanding and confidence with each passing day.

His pointers on what to do and not to do, especially his post on Cognitive Dissonance helped me to not get flagged or piss anyone off for almost 2 weeks now.

I first heard about Bitcoin in 2014 but hadn't done anything until about 3 weeks ago when I opened a brokerage account and bought my first Bitcoin and Ethereum (not a lot).

I heard about Steemit on The Keiser Report and my ears perked up when they specifically mentioned that it was for content creators.
postit.jpg
I still have the post-it note that I wrote it down on.

I'm convinced that while individual cryptocurrencies may ebb and flow, crypto itself is here to stay.

Here's what I think sets Steemit apart from the others.

I think most people are going to look at crypto like day traders in the stock market or Foreign Currency Exchanges.

They're going to live with their eyeballs glued to a computer monitor or smartphone, watching candlestick charts or reading tea leaves or maybe watching flocks of birds, waiting for that sign for them to hop from one coin to another, making huge profit after huge profit.

Like most people, they're probably going to wind up buying high and selling low.

Because when you only see crypto in that vein, you're stuck waiting and hoping.

Waiting for the Universe to drive one coin higher and hoping you've picked the right one.

Steemit is different.

Everyone, as contributors, has an opportunity to add value.

Your work can earn Steem.

You don't have to rely your boss recognizing your contribution and compensating you for what they think it's worth (or what they think they can get away with paying you).

Your work goes out into the blockchain where everyone sees it.

There's also no monetary investment required, if you're able and want to, you can buy Steem, but you can also start out with nothing out of your own pocket on Steemit and build it into something with your own work.

You aren't entirely at the mercy of the all powerful "Market".

True, Steem may trade higher and lower but you will always be able to increase your value by contributing (even if your contribution is a comment).

That's why I Steemit.

Sort:  

I am so anxious to see where this whole thing goes.

Upvoted

I'm glad I've been able to help you :D

I gave you credit for making me reconsider a smart ass reply to a post from @rok-sivante.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 62001.44
ETH 3479.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51