You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hardfork 20 (“Velocity”) development update

in #steem7 years ago

Each vote that is cast will be shifted down by about 1.219 SP. This effectively establishes a “baseline” voting strength that applies to everyone, while still maintaining a linear rewards curve for votes above the baseline. This way even large Steem Power holders won’t be able to profit from casting countless inconsequential votes.

I am not sure I understand that. Can anyone clarify?

Sort:  

it looks like if i have around 100 SP and vote you with 100% weight, my vote towrds you goes as if i had voted with 98.781 SP. Why? Not 100% sure, but seems like people could spam ultratiny votes

This means that if you have 100 SP and you do a vote, you effectively vtoe with 98.8 SP. That means one 100% vote is better than two 50% votes, reducing the reward on 0.01% votes spammed. I don't think that that one SP will make a lot of a difference but the general idea sounds good.

I like that it create a larger incentive for smaller stake holder to own more Steem.

I find 1.219 SP to be quite an odd number.

I find 1.219 SP to be quite an odd number.

The actual number is the rshares of the previous dust limit, I think something like 50000. 1.219 is an estimate of the amount of SP you would have to have for your vote to add that number of rshares.

So can you confirm that the fee is a flat rshares fee? That would be a great change in my opinion.

Yes what is done now is to subtract STEEM_VOTE_DUST_THRESHOLD (an rshares quantity) from each vote.

Great! That sounds like a good plan.

@smooth and @reggaemuffin is there somewhere that you can point me to that explains all the backend language? I'm trying to understand a bit more about it so I can help out.

It is a lot, so there are many posts on it but not one that explains everything. It would be too long and too complicated.

@inquiringtimes has a contest that is looking for topics that are lacking information. And if you ask around, people will help :) the more specific, the better.

Nice comment sir

😊👍 @smooth
And great post by @reggaemuffin

I like that it create a larger incentive for smaller stake holder to own more Steem.

Definitely! And it has the potential to discourage vote spam, which I very much like. It is just a really small number and so I have no idea if we even notice the change...

I find 1.219 SP to be quite an odd number.

It is probably one of the calculated limits? Maybe 1 SP added to 0.2 STEEM creation fee or something like that. I'll check the code in a bit to see if there is a reason for that number.

Edit:

https://github.com/steemit/steem/issues/1764#issuecomment-350313957

Seems that is where that number comes from.

I tend to vote a lot but at low percentages. Wouldn't this change encourage people to be "stingy" with smaller votes? If I am making more off 100% posts, then why should I give 10% to 100 posts if I can get more by giving 100% to 10 posts? Or am I getting the math very wrong (again)?

It agree. It would also bet better for the website overall since people would view much more content

It seems that if I understand it correctly, on a 100% vote you have 1.2SP less, on a 1% vote you have 120SP less. Which is maybe a cent or so? Not much.

Preciously small votes were bigger than big votes, maybe that will now change a bit.

:scratches head:

I am going to keep giving out 5% and 10% votes like I have been doing. I might be losing money, but I rather encourage more people to post and comment. Also, I will always suck at math.

You have about 3000 SP, so a 10% vote from you is using 300 SP. That is, the difference of the 1.219 SP deduction is a reduction in the power of that vote by about 0.3%, so you won't even notice it.

Gotcha! I actually have a delegation from a kind shy whale so I can curate like a madwoman (which I do), so my voting SP is around 40,000 SP. In other words - I really won't notice.

Thank you for the explanation! <3

We will see how that new thing plays out and if it has an impact at all :)

I completely agree. I think this change will discourage whales or dolphins to distribute their big upvote to many minnows or newcomers.

This is also a death to the voting bot for minnows, who cannot afford to spend much SBDs on high percentage votes.
That will be interesting to see how it works out in the prod environment.

Voting bots need to die anyway. All of them. There isn't a single one that operates in the way Steemit is supposed to distribute rewards.

Minnowbooster will probably be affected, as we vote with 1 cent votes if wanted. We will try it out and report if it makes any issues. I am currently not worried.

You have 3200 SP. This means that if you vote with .0375% power, the vote will be logged in the blockchain but will have no impact on the reward pool. The practical impact of this change is that the tiny minority of extremely weak votes will have no impact on the rewards pool. There is no reason to take this into account when you are being active on the platform. All of the changes we do are always designed to ensure that the vast majority of users can just use the site intuitively. This change has no practical effect on anyone who isn't intentionally voting with insanely weak votes. Since the deduction of 1.2 SP per votes is applied across the board, everyone is effected equally, therefore there is no reason to adjust your behaviors, again assuming you aren't one of the people vote spamming.

Since all my votes are manual (no longer trailing anyone), I never vote below 1% anyways cause there's no such option in the interface. It only goes down to 1%. I vote on about 100 posts a day so I guess you could call it vote-spamming if you really wanted to. Or an addiction. Or both.

:)

This means that if you have 100 SP and you do a vote, you effectively vtoe with 98.8 SP

Each vote that is cast will be shifted down by about 1.219 SP.

Your explanation (per user) semantically contradicts with the blog post above (per vote). Awaiting clarification.

I don't understand the distinction. A single user can only have one vote on a post/comment right?

I think this is a case of and, per user per vote. I am only interpreting the words of steemit and when all votes are shiftet down by some amount, it would be as if you are missing some SP. I am guessing that this actually affects the rshares issued without regard for the voting power. That would mean that low votes are with a bigger penalty than big votes. Or it could be a flat reduction and it will just be as if we all are one SP short. Time will tell :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64761.00
ETH 3425.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55