The imminent demise of comment bots.

in #steem6 years ago

So today @steemitblog released a what to expect when you're expecting a hardfork blog post. (They didn't title it that, which seems like a lost opportunity.)

If you get lost reading it, don't worry. I'm sure they had an intended audience for the post, but I'm not sure I can figure out what that audience was. It certainly wasn't regular users.

However, one thing caught my attention when they were talking about the transition to the new Resource Credit system, which is that certain operations which add a lot of data to the blockchain will be more expensive under RC than they have been under bandwidth, particularly posts and comments.

It looks to me like humans with existing accounts probably won't have much problem with this. There are some potential issues with the new 0 SP accounts having enough RCs to post/comment and earn SP to move beyond that, and we'll more or less have to wait to see how that will play out.

But the effect on comment bots should be immediately noticeable, particularly on those without very much SP to work with. Some of that's great - the phishing bot should be a lot less effective, spam should decrease, and bots that are purely annoying like the recent @bott which tells you if you have unclaimed rewards might go away completely.

Then there's the middle ground like the spellchecker, mentioning non-existent user checker, the Magic 8-Ball, Haiku Bot, things that many of us don't really find add much but some posters clearly see value in. It's pretty likely those are going to get wiped out by the change.

Also probably dead are the callable bots, which only show up when someone actually wants them. Bots like @rollsomedice, which despite its name rolls one six-sided die, and @rolld20 which rolls one 20-sided die, are useful services that have relied on cheap comments. Those are at the top of my mind because I'm slowly working on a more-full-featured callable dice and rng bot, because I've been frustrated at not having one. But part of why I'm not moving fast is I'm not sure how many SP it's going to need to be practicable under HF20.

There are quite a few communities who have their own callable bots for various purposes who should be thinking about what this means to them. If they're running on low-SP accounts they may stop functioning.

Don't worry, though, the bidbot comments aren't likely to go anywhere, since they have plenty of SP. Thankfully this also includes the most useful callable bot, @tipu. I imagine Cheetah will also be fine, and if 10,000 SP doesn't turn out to be enough for its comment volume there will be people to delegate to it.

Steemitboard of course is one that might have a real problem despite having significant SP, given their comment volume. The introduction bots might have issues as well, especially if we do see more new users coming with faster account creation.

I'm not really sure how this is going to shake out or whether Steem will be better or worse for it, but it's a pretty significant change that we haven't really thought about yet, so it seemed worth bringing up.

Steem.png

Sort:  

I know one human that if he is able to continue his normal commenting without any problems then no human commenter will have a problem, and that is @janton king of the comments. 1149 comments and a comments - length in characters of 248,359 - so if he has no problems then none of us will.

Yeah, I was thinking we should have thrown Janton at the testnet.

If we see him unable to do anything then we know there is trouble in steemland.

HF approaching , bot comments dying ..may I interest you in last serving of free popcorn ?

!popcorn

I'm pretty sure Mark has enough SP that he can keep the Popcorn Express running as long as he wants to.

So in the #playbypost community we use
the @ rollthedice and the @ rolld20 bots. Each has a 92 SP delegation and both curate posts with upvotes daily.
So they are slowly gaining posting rewards.

I hope with those size’s they hold up. If not we will reassess them.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

If they don't I'll figure out some way to get my new one out. I think a callable RNG is a feature we ought to have.

I also recall mention of how follows are actually a more expensive action as well. So I’ll be glad when this puts down those bots that follow hundreds of thousands of accounts trying to get follow backs, and then unfollow and repeat endlessly!!!!

Oh, that would be nice. I'm not sure why follows would be more expensive than votes, but we can hope.

I wish some of these bot would be scrapped off. They are very irritation.

On the other hand, for a starter to climb to 100 SP is always a mountain to climb. I hope the new 0 SP would make things easier.

Thanks for the reminder..

I certainly won't miss the magic 8 ball.

Posted using Partiko Android

Magic 8 Ball says:

It is certain.

Oh yes ha de ha!

Posted using Partiko Android

That's an excellent point I hadn't considered.
Thinking of @lordnigel's interactive battle tournament.
Heaps of callable bot action over a week or so then minimal usage for the next 3.
It'll be interesting to see how deep our resource credit stack is.

I suspect that those single-community bots are going to be the hardest hit by this.

Do you think it will limit the 0.001 wallet spammers?

It is a cheaper transaction from my understanding.

Limit a little maybe, at least a few of them who don't have many SP. But it probably won't have a huge impact.

I like haiku bot. I'm still trying to get one. A comment that is.

:-)

Oh and who doesn't appreciate a bit of !popcorn now and again?

@bott is probably the most pointless bot I've seen on Steemit. Tells you have rewards, when your eyes will do that for you. Also tells you it will help claim the rewards, when the button and a working finger can do that.

Oh well maybe the writer's next attempt will be more useful.

Cg

In practice, the RC credit system won't be too much of a burden, IMO. Comment bots that make a lot of comments will actually be helped by the hard fork. Before, comments were limited to once per 20 seconds. After HF20, comments are limited to every 3 seconds. That means more comments!

Given the rapid decline of your rep over the last day or so, I'm not sure more comments are the right answer for you.

Yeah, I've been considering further limiting where I will comment. I also might get some callable features soon.

Lol Points!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35