You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HardFork20 and worrying about 1.2 SP votes

in #steem6 years ago

I question accounts that are casting votes that are using under 1.2 SP of vests. What I mean by this is that after HF20, votes under that amount won't count. I say, good.

That part itself makes some sense, the weird part is that they accomplish it by taking (a 100% vote at 1.2 SP) worth of rshares away from every vote. Not just the tiny accounts, every vote in the whole system. Yours, mine, @freedom's, all will lose the same amount per vote. Basically every account loses somewhere between 1.2 and 3 effective SP depending on where they keep their VP, which doesn't matter too much to you and me and George but can matter a lot to someone with 30 SP, who is already at least a little committed here.

I'm not terribly upset by it, but it's kind of a bizarre choice, and I wanted to see how much it mattered.

Sort:  

Yes, I understand that it trims every one a little with the greatest effect on the smallest but, from a curation perspective, an engaged user will outstrip that very quickly. I don't know how to do the math on it but, What is the weekly curation expectation on 30 SP considering that currently, it takes 90 SP to get a 1 cent vote.

Lets say that 90 SP it is all used to vote each day at 10x 100% = 10 cents, 70 cents a week, 20% curation equals 14c. Double it for an awesome curator = 28 cents. That is with 90 SP. with 30, that is ~10 cents a week. Yes, significant if an awesome curator who can pick great content but, at current prices, that is 3 half decent comments on any one of my 30 odd posts a week. Which is easier for them to earn? Now, add them in the trail and they are voting behind other larger voters so their curation is zero.

Wouldn't it be easier to comment to not only cover the difference but, have the potential for much more? Wouldn't it be easier in the long run to be part of the community and far outpace the curation earning? I don't know but for me, engagement for a smaller account will likely make a massive difference to their value while curation return is negligible. If it comes to self voting, are they going to post 10 times a day and only self vote? That would cost them about 0.5 of a cent but, the community 9.5 cents. It might attract some more votes too though but is likely spam.

I think at the end of the day, it will bring more benefit than loss to the engaged accounts.

What is the weekly curation expectation on 30 SP

Very near zero. Unless you're frontrunning bidbots or voting in front of Utopian you need about 100 SP to earn curation at all. Below that curation rewards don't often get to the 0.001 Steem level they need to avoid being dusted.

But I don't care about curation earnings (look how I vote). I care about how much influence a user has over the rewards, and removing 10% of their influence is still something, even if that influence is small to begin with. Possibly especially if it is. For one thing it makes it even harder for something like the Minnow Uprising to work.

It didn't end up being a very high number, but even so removing $750/year collectively from Curie's rewarded posts doesn't help us.

Yes, I agree losing influence doesn't help but I also think at that stage, the influence isn't in the SP, it is in the ability to engage with others in the community. I would assume that there will be other factors coming that will cover this in different ways too as overall, I think the HF and Hivemind will improve the environment for small/new accounts and offset any potential harms.

Very near zero. Unless you're frontrunning bidbots or voting in front of Utopian you need about 100 SP to earn curation at all.

I think this would take a lot of effort better spent reading a little and commenting well.

I think I made almost as much SP from one comment making fun of Jerry as I've made from curation in the lifetime of my account. Thinking about curation is almost always counterproductive.

Lol. Earning off Jerry gets double points.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69377.84
ETH 3684.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.36