I Will NOT Be Using Busy.org To Post My Articles.....And Here Is The Reason

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

I am an ardent supporter of any project on this blockchain and will give anyone the benefit of the doubt.

That said, it does not take much to lose my support and Busy.org just did.

One of the nice features, so I thought, of that application was that it autosaved the drafts when someone wrote an article. In this day and age, it isn't that much of an accomplishment since you consider some browsers do that. Nevertheless, it is a handy feature when you are posting.

That is, until the feature doesn't work.

I was in the process of writing a post, had to change tabs, only to click on the wrong button, and lost a 1,500 word post.

I thought, okay, I will just go into the drafts and pull it back up. The thought was I might lose a few of the paragraphs at the end.

This is what I found when I went into the drafts section....

Two days? Are you kidding me?

This feature has been unaddressed for two days?

I am sorry, but to me, that is completely unacceptable. People spend a lot of time creating posts and, often, have to jump around within a browser or go to the desk to add other content. Whatever people have to do, there is the chance that a tab could get closed or a back button hit.

If the feature is not going to work, it is best not to have it.

I will have no problem openly promoting an application and urging people to use it. As I stated, I will even cut the apps some slack understanding technical challenges can arise especially when new. Yesterday, I wrote a post about parley.io and how I love the idea of a true Reddit competitor with similar layout. Since it is a new project, I am stating this knowing there will be some hiccups along the way.

However, Busy.org is not a new application and is meant to be an option to Steemit. When one is losing posts, to me, that makes an interface a lot less attractive.

As per my norm, I will visit Busy.org again in a few months to see if they got their act together. Until then, all my articles will be written on Steemit. At least there I know that the article is autosaved in there.

If you found this article informative, please give it an upvote and resteem.


To receive the free basic income tokens you are entitled to and help end world wide poverty, please click the following:

Click For Manna Coins

In full disclosure this is a referral link

image.png

Sort:  

Hi,

The same thing happened to me today. I was quite angry, but then I thought " Hey... it's BETA !"...
Busy (2).png

Oh my I just figure that out two days ago too. I was surprise how busy.org saves posts as drafts even when they were posted. Huh? Yeah the saving feature on it is not as robust as steemit.com, however this maybe part of the reason why the site runs quicker than steemit.com. Just my guess.

Anyways there is so much features on busy.org that it is hard for me to just not ever use it again.

To prevent this I normally no write my articles on a word document. This way I have a copy of all the articles I've written along with the formatting and if I do click the wrong button it won't disappear! This also allows me to write more than one article at once.

Well, tbh this can and does happen with steemit or any other app too. Sure, it sucks, but that's the reason why I write my posts offline - something I would recommend to anyone. This even happens with Wordpress or with any other online app - things get lost or don't save correctly. No reason to stop using busy, even though I can understand that you're pissed...

I agree. Offline first is a good approach. If it is actually that long I might actually use Scrivener to organize my thoughts.

That would really suck. What was the post going to be about? From what I have seen everything on the steem blockchain has some glitches.

Unfortunately Steemit doesn't have drafts either, it just caches it. If you use a different browser or computer it will not be available.

This post made me cringe because I've had many near misses with losing work like that. To hear that it actually happened to you... ug.

A few times I recovered my work in Chrome with

Control Shift T

This brings back a closed tab. However, I'm guessing that wouldn't have worked for you. Honestly, sometimes when I've spent a lot of time on something I've straight up copy/paste/saved it into notepad because I was so paranoid about losing it.

That happened to me once too at busy. For newbies however, I still believe it’s worth if for the upvote and sliding voter under 500 sp!

I agree! However, the bot has been ignoring most of my posts lately.

Your anger is quite understandable. This needs to be fixed. I mostly prepare longer posts in text editors. Aside the draft feature (that steemit lacks at all), busy has just so much better user experience....

Well I always write my articles in word before putting it online.

Did you try "right click - reopen tab"?

Yes...I also think that is very much safer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60140.96
ETH 2378.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59