Ready to give up: Earning Vests

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Finding it hard to get the motivation to post? Perhaps you don't have a good perspective of how it works here or, where it may lead. For me, I try to build some kind of mental models that give me a working picture to build upon. Do you have one?

Here, I am trying to build myself a picture of the difference between posting now compared to the highs in regard to payouts and vests and I checked what posts paid out on the day of the all time high. I know, this isn't factoring in the 3.5 day average but, it is more fitting as it is about doing a premortem to improve chances of success. Have a read here.

That post paid out after curation:

Because of SBD being high, I was of course taking a 50/50 payout so it looks like this:

As you can see, 41.301 is in SBD which is 50% of the payout and, ~11.098 is in Steem Power. What that means is to work out the 3.5 day average at time of payout, it is 41.301/11.098 = 3.721

That puts us right about here:

That means that in the next two days, the price doubled. Pretty amazing to think really but, that is not why I am talking about this. There is another number that is of more interest to me and that is the one in the Blue box. That is how many vests that post earned, 22.471. That number comes from the 50% of Steem Power that goes straight into vests. A basic formula is 1 SP is about 2 kVests. 500 SP is about 1 MV.

This is my last payout which came 6 minutes ago.

Earnings:

Still at a 50/50 payout:

As you can see, a 16.636 dollar reward becomes 9.161/9.161 with both in Steem because SBD isn't printing. However, if it was it would be: 8.318/9.161 = 0.907

With the current 3.5 day average feed price being:

So, a 16 dollar payout netted me 18.548 kV whereas an 82 dollar payout netted only 20% more at 22.471. Now of course, this doesn't factor in the extremely high price of SBD which I personally mostly used to buy more steem Power with on and off the platform but, it shows how low prices affect the earnings of Steem Power. I know that many people don't really get this and, I know it is very basic for others.

Here is another with this one taken from the 6th of January.

I have at times been very fortunate to get good support here without having to sell my soul.

Now, let's look at the vests:

82.681/12.556 = 6.58 Steem price

Not quite the all time high (ATH ) but, close enough as remember, it is a 3.5 day average and the ATH was a peak point that didn't hold for 3 days. But, a 165 dollar post (which didn't get near trending) netted 24.523 kV.

Vests are important, it is what draws on the pool and as you can see, there is a large difference beween the value of posts but, not a great difference between the vests earned. While the 166 dollar post was 10x the payout value of the 16 dollar post, it only earned me 30% more Vests.

Of course, this doesn't factor in the high SBD prices and what it is able to buy but when it comes to buying Steem, the system sees SBD as 1 dollar. So, if using the internal conversion, it would work out the same as 50/50 Steem which is why that option was removed from the User Interface. But, if used to buy Steem on the internal market, it is factored in at the price of SBD. On January 6th it was about 7 dollars which means, 82x7= 574 dollars worth. I converted it to Steem at current market price which means, ~574/6.50 = 88 Steem. Quite amazing.

Powered up it meant that instead of that post earning 24.523 kV it earned about 200 kV. To get that kind of vest return now requires a post to get 80 dollars payouts because SBD is printing anyway.

But..... what if SBD held the peg at that payout and was worth the 1 dollar? well, that would mean that my conversion from SBD would be just like a normal 50/50 payout now meaning that if the post earned 12.556 SP it would get 12.556 SP if using SBD to buy. This is the normal order of business, or should be with a peg that holds.

But what that means is that under normal conditions, at that price, that post would have got me a max of 48 kV. That was a 165 dollar post. To earn the same vests now it requires a ~22 dollar post. So a 22 dollar post is equivalent to a 165 dollar post in Vests. A 2.2 dollar post is about the same as 16 dollar posts and a 1 dollar post is about the same as a 7 dollar post.

I know I have gone about this in a very confusing manner but, I want people to actually do the work to understand the system from different perspectives. For those who are planning on being here long term, it is advisable to build a picture for yourself how all of these things work because it can change the way you view the platform.

I will leave you with this last example:

As you can see, there was no SBD printing at this point either.

That post earned the princely sum of:

That was one of my highest rewarded posts to that point. That works out as, 5/66 = ~0.075 price feed of Steem. It is a payout from March 16th, 2017. That post earned more vests than the 165 dollar one.

What that means is that if I had cashed it all out at that very moment, I would have made ~5 dollars US. Today, that post is worth $59.40. and at 10 dollar Steem, that tiny 5 dollar payout will be worth 660 dollars. There it sits as about 132 kV in my Steem Power, earning a little more each day. What people need to remember is that a 1 Steem return now is worth 90 cents but in the future, it will be worth the future price. A little 2 dollar post today might net 2 Steem but, in 3 years from now, what might it be worth? You don't know do you.

While everyone is waiting for higher prices to post, I am hoping to earn some Vests in the meantime. I am going to keep building the relationships, keep grinding away and keep helping others do the same. This might potentially be the most profitable year of your earning life and even though you are going to have to be patient for the return, the work has to be done now.

I am sorry if you are confused by the numbers or if they aren't completely accurate as, math is not my strong suit. I know that for some they will have a look over this, have a look at their own earnings on Steemd.com and start looking into just what is going on.

https://steemdb.com/@USERNAMEHERE/authoring

I hope that it helps people get a better view of how they are here and where it could lead. Price now is not the same as price a year from now and with SMTs on the near horizon and investment companies and banks looking to get a foot in the door, in my opinion, the chances are good that in the not too distant future, the work many people consider thankless now will be the work that they are grateful to have performed. If they held a little too of course.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

Honestly I’m just thankful , I’m just hanging on and going on the ride just like everyone else . I make shit amount but I’m thankful because the Steem I save off will sell for more (hopefully) by March when SMT come out

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for explaining that, I've been thinking along similar lines, but I'm more visual...

VESTS...

It is about going 50/50.

Are you being geek or being pervy and visual now?

I'll let you decide :)

I was under the assumption that vest was directly related to the amount of SP one has. but that is wrong
Does delegation affect vest. increase or decrease.
I have been powering up everything. If I had a kitchen sink I would power that up also. The wife put her foot down on that one :)

It connected to SP (there are some minor variations I think but I don't know about that). What it is though is about the ability to earn now. To get a post that would earn 10 kV (~5 Steem/ 4 SBD worth) now is easier than it was 7 months ago getting a 5 Steem post 7 months ago as that would have needed a ~35 dollar post. When prices were up, people spread more but the Vests went down.

For example, I had a vote of about 10 dollars. this meant that a 1% comment vote was 10 cents. I gave lots of them. Now I give 4 % votes that are worth 4 cents. so the spread isn't as far but, for those who.

When prices are high, a large account will lower their percentage vote to suit the dollar value. What this means is that say they think a post is worth 50 dollars of their vote. When prices are up, that might be a 20 percent vote. When pries fall, they might make it a 25 dollar vote instead which could now be a 50% vote.

If Steem is 7 dollars, the $50 vote is worth 7 steem. If Steem is worth 1 dollar, the 25 dollar vote is worth 25 Steem. My 0.10 cent comment vote earned less vests at 7 dollars than my 0.04 cent comment vote is worth now at 90 cent Steem.

This did answer a lot of question and opened up a mess more. Slow and steady.
I can see where it is a better time to earn. But more important it builds on the future where the real earning can take place. There are a lot of people who are here now that will not reap this benefit because they are looking at the wrong things. The importance of vest is one of them. and not their Reputation score. Eye is on the wrong ball
Thanks helped a lot. been going over this since you made the comment. That is why the big delay. :)

I am off to bed but I am always available for you if you drop a line with questions. I will try to answer what I know and make up the rest that I don't ;)

I am always available for you if you drop a line with questions.

I have always known that just like the sun will come up in the morning. and grateful for it. The best way to learn is to do it, when one gets stuck ask then to keep moving forward.
What I have learned over the past 5 months is nothing less then astonishing. The last time I touched a computer where it was more involved than candy crush was in the 80's.
What I get out of your posts keeps me hoping :) I hope others get deeper into them to fully understand the intent because the reward is great

Better hurry up because the neighbor is cleaning his hammer

@moonknight1977

a good explanation of how the payouts work....

Hi taraz. I had already done the workings out and realized what it was worth. I can see the value of even a solitary dollar now on a post as the vest value is what it would have been back a couple of months ago. People see the value but don't actually see the real value behind the scenes as such. I am very happy that it is like this at the moment as the growth rate is phenomenal.

I am very happy that it is like this at the moment as the growth rate is phenomenal.

It is quite amazing but people get used to conditions that won't last, like high SBD prices.

You're making very good points and this is how I see it, too. Thanks for working out the numbers!

They are accurate enough but don't look too closely just in case. For some people here, what they earn in the next year will allow them to retire because of where they live in the world.

In a sense this is an absolutely golden time to build. The real deciding value is earned now, not when the prices come back up

I read the article twice and I really do not understand how these things work and I know that this should be my job, but what if I am happy to meet people like you who are so committed to this project, so enthusiastic and with a futuristic vision of Steemit. You do an incredible job!

Tried to follow all the math here and it generally made sense. Yeah I didn’t know how vests tie into SP exactly

Posted using Partiko iOS

Every time you post like this.. I feel like you’re talking just you and me. I can’t deny that I’m dragging my feet posting. Anything otherwise is an excuse. But I think I know what I should focus on in the weeks to come.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94