Sort:  

The way dtube is doing it is fine. The problem is purely most people expecting it to work like YouTube. Being decentralised means all of us need to be willing to spin up a server instance or donate some hard drive space (I think there’s some crypto projects centred around those ideas too) to pin our own and other people’s videos. More people pinning makes it faster and less likely to disappear 😄

Posted using Partiko iOS

Being decentralised means all of us need to be willing to spin up a server instance or donate some hard drive space (I think there’s some crypto projects centred around those ideas too)

I guess it would work like a torrent system?

Kind of.

Now that you mention it I think if it’s possible for ipfs and webtorrent to work side by side dtube could implement webtorrent as well as while it’s probably not quite as sophisticated as ipfs it’s a lot easier for a non-techy user to set up. When I was playing around with bitchute I downloaded a webtorrent client for my os and grabbed the magnet link for my test video, bang done. Also viewers can temporarily seed while on the page, though some people have tantrums about stuff like that (which I think is fair enough if they’re actually not informed).

Ipfs was slightly more involved 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61297.02
ETH 2687.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59