On selling, powering up and the impossible

in #steem5 years ago

Maybe I am delusional. At least, I believe that the future of Steem is bright while all things point to the contrary. While some people are content having a happy day today, I am working toward changing my life for tomorrow also and when it comes to never having the wolves at my heels again, I see no other nor better way than crypto at this time. It just takes some investment and a whole lot of collective luck. I say collective because for crypto to reach its potential, it takes a whole range of people to play their part.

Steem for me is like that package out of the Tom Hanks movie Castaway. You know the one that washed up on the shore but he never opened and delivered at the end, never knowing what it contained. It could have helped him in his time on the island but, it was a package of hope and no matter how bad things got, that package empowered him to find a way without opening it.

That is an overly dramatic view of Steem I understand but at the same time, how many people would like to be free of the wolves of debt and how many have a realistic way with more promise than crypto? I don't think that many people are ever going to work their way out of the cycle as an employee. How many people are working right now for an hourly wage that has the potential to grow 20x its value in 6 months or even 5 years?

Now, 20x puts Steem at 8 dollars, the last all time high and I see that the next real run might put it closer to the 20 dollar range, that is 50x from this point. Have you ever earned 100 dollars and turned it into 5000? That would be like a year of average Finnish salary of 30,000€ turning into 1.5€ million. What would you do to be able to work that year if that was the potential upside and the downside was time lost?

At the moment, I don't have fiat to buy in with but I am working hard to try and get a position to do just that but, it takes time. What I do have is a little EOS that I bought some year or so ago and although it was trapped when the price was very high, I am still well up on it though so, most of it has now gone into Steem. I have a little on the exchanges still to play with as I think there is opportunity to clean up what people are selling.

This pushes me to just over 31K Steem Power. I will power up another lot about half the size when it unlocks from my wallet in a few days. This might be silly as of course EOS could do really well and potentially out perform Steem but from this point if Steem goes to 8, EOS would have to go to 75 dollars to outperform it. Steem has already hit 8 at the ATH, 75 is 3x more than EOS's peak. It is a risk but I see that both are going to perform well overtime anyway. Plus, I think I have been able to buy more than 5x the Steem I put into EOS.

All of this is a gamble but, it is one that I believe will either pay off hugely so that my family will never have to experience this kind of struggle again or, go to zero and besides the time and work, we are in the same position. I have the benefit that I work in the real world and I have a work ethic that I can push to cover what we need so for me, Steem doesn't exist as a revenue stream at this point. I am glad that others can use it though as it helps many people and it shows decent use case potentials.

I feel that at the moment Steem is severely undervalued as a coin, a community and a future platform that can house a very wide selection of content material. Even many people here still see it as a blogging platform without recognising it as a digital content delivery system of all kinds of content medias. Essentially, most of the internet could be hosted on Steem in various ways which is why there is a lot more space than for one content delivery chain. This doesn't mean that Steem won't go lower in value though from this point so if buying with fiat, think hard.

What I am hoping now is for that decent people who are Steem positive are using their resources available to power up a little and become active distributors of the pool as the platform starts to grow in user base again. People don't seem to realize how much draw small players could have on the pool and more importantly, how much effect they have on things like user retention. In time, it is going to be a collaborative effort between apps, communities and the many larger accounts that are able to support and reward everything from individual users who deliver decent content to large scale developments of apps or the blockchain itself.

Anyway, obviously I am here on Steem and obviously I think that there is more of a future here than the doomsayers spread but, I don't really expect anyone to take part. One of the beauties of this Steem umbrella community and all the sub-communities that house individuals, is that is is all opt-in, not one person has been forced to be a part of this place and not one person is unable to opt-out if they so choose. In my opinion, that makes this place pretty special considering the potential implications if we are able to get it to work well.

The funny thing about all of this is that all everyone says is on an immutable blockchain for the world to read. One day there could be people laughing heartily at my stupidity and delusions or, wondering why they themselves didn't believe a little more. It doesn't really matter which it is of course because at the end of the day, what is the worst case scenario?

I will lose a couple of years of work, I will lose some face, I will lose the opportunity of something else, I will lose everything I have ever put into it. However, what I have done for that loss can never be taken away from me, all of these words, all of the effort, all of the people I have befriended and perhaps sometimes helped, all of what I have done is done, past, unable to be done again.

What is the best case scenario and, what is the point between best and worst when there is no known ceiling?

We shall see one day but because I back myself to always be able to provide for my family even if it destroys me, there is no risk in trying to reach out for what many believe is the impossible.

"Impossible is just a big word thrown around by small men who find it easier to live in the world they've been given than to explore the power they have to change it. Impossible is not a fact. It's an opinion. Impossible is not a declaration. It's a dare. Impossible is potential. Impossible is temporary. Impossible is nothing." - Muhammad Ali

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

For me it's about the community; so even with Steem going down and continuing, SteemFest showed me that the people are what I care about. The personal growth I have discovered since coming onto Steemit in February has been incredible. It has become a way of life now, in a very short time.

That said, I did make my first fiat buy of Steem yesterday; just a small amount to test how it works. Now I know, I may buy more, but probably not because family and Christmas and all that, plus debt, that awful wolf at my heels. I owe the bank money in the form of an overdraft, and a credit card, and a mortgage. If I can get myself free at least of the first two... So if Steem turns around, I'll probably withdraw to clear that debt. Otherwise, I'll just keep working the day job and chipping away at it as I'm doing now.

It has become a way of life now, in a very short time.

I find that it is the most compelling place to interact on the internet I have found. People spend their time on so much other nonsense, why not spend it here?

So if Steem turns around, I'll probably withdraw to clear that debt. Otherwise, I'll just keep working the day job and chipping away at it as I'm doing now.

I am likely to do the same. I had a chance to be debt free last December but didn't take it. However, it did allow me some steem benefits and kept me more invested here. So, if it does go up, I can take some without feeling I have abandoned anyone.

Scary times now. Seems like I'm playing roulette, and it's all or nothing.

I don't see it as scary but, I don't rely on this working out to survive, I will survive okay regardless, at least for the time being. When it comes to fundamental life change however, it is a bit all or nothing....

Yeah, for me too. I would take a small hit in quality of life. But I'm still a strong believer in the long term potential.

Sometimes it does feel like a gamble but heck, we got the faith!

Faith... and Beer =)

It's a heady combination!! :0D

Congratz, Taraz! I recently powered up my first ever 'bought' STEEM, 1000 of 'em, and it felt good. Made me a baby Dolphin even, so double the fun. Powering up 4000 STEEM is a lot, and I too am looking at my EOS with hungry eyes... But also noticed that it had generated 12,5% just from airdrops, so am now thinking of turning those airdrops into STEEM. Feels like free money.

Good times to grow the account and I had never wished more for some spare FIAT... Wouldn't mind a quick job here and there the coming weeks ;-)

I recently powered up my first ever 'bought' STEEM, 1000 of 'em, and it felt good.

It is a good feeling and I am sure there are many feeling good lately.

But also noticed that it had generated 12,5% just from airdrops,

Oooh, that is a good idea, didn't think of that :)

Wouldn't mind a quick job here and there the coming weeks ;-)

Me too but I think it is going to take time for me to get one. probably too much time.

I hadn't thought of it either, just was staring at the wallet and suddenly saw all these shitcoins counting up to a nice amount of EOS :D

(Have to check if they really are shitcoins of course, who knows, maybe there's a golden ticket in there as well :D)

That is good news by being able to power up. The beauty of selling the EOS and powering up Steem is it can go straight to work making you extra from day one. The EOS would have been sitting on an exchange waiting for upward movement that may be a while yet.I know it looks like all the eggs are in one basket ,but we are all backing this horse now and have to make it win.

Well, EOS is similar to steem and has advantages in holding like airdrops and interest too. I don't know much about it though and have no time to leverage my stake in a similar way I do here.

Love this post 👍🏾

Posted using Partiko iOS

Cheers mate and welcome back :)

It only took four words, and you inspired me to write, yet again!
lol
https://steemit.com/blog/@lucylin/delusion-personality-disorders-and-the-impossible

I will have a read a little later.

btw, I was thinking about this community thing a little. Which groups do you spend your time in on discord or somewhere? Are you part of some writers group or curation project? Are there any apps that you are using?

I don't do discord.
I came here to blog, not to chat live - I do enough of that elsewhere for other things.

I was thinking about this community a little to, I think I see where we misunderstand each other.
(using the @informationwar and @comedyopenmic as examples, and pointed out by yourself)
Tiny community in the big picture can be a thing.
When I see community,( relative to your posts), in your posts see steemit and as the community appears (to me anyway) as one big community.
Which I think is an incorrect concept.
Hundreds of small ones, maybe.
But still nothing of the strength of real world communities. Not as resilient to being broken up.

They wouldn't accpet me at curie - they thought I was shite, or something..lol

My interest here is non technical - I just wanna write my stuff.
Apps?
Appalachian mountains?
Alpaca's?
Me no understand...lol

When I see community,( relative to your posts), in your posts see steemit and as the community appears (to me anyway) as one big community.

That is as you see it, not as I present it necessarily. There are hundreds of communities here under a Steem umbrella, many will never see each other in the same way most under a nation, city or suburb community will never know each other.

But still nothing of the strength of real world communities. Not as resilient to being broken up.

You seem to confuse this place with the real world even though it mimics it in many ways. Strong communities generally take many, many years to form of strength and are not decentralized in nature and rarely driven primarily by economic incentive. Perhaps it is a cart before the horse problem.

They wouldn't accpet me at curie - they thought I was shite, or something..lol

Nothing here stops anyone from developing their own sub-communities and all the ones that exist, including Curie, started from one person who did the work to grow it.

My interest here is non technical - I just wanna write my stuff.
Apps?
Appalachian mountains?
Alpaca's?
Me no understand...lol

Then, it is likely going to be difficult to be a part of a community if one isn't interested in being where the people are or interested in what they are interested in.

Everyone can take their own path here and each step expands and limits opportunity in various ways simultaneously.

Strong communities generally take many, many years to form of strength and are not decentralized in nature and rarely driven primarily by economic incentive.

Can you give me two examples of this in real life since, say, Roman times...?

Nothing here stops anyone from developing their own sub-communities and all the ones that exist, including Curie, started from one person who did the work to grow it.

I'm interested in writing , not administrating bureaucracies.

Then, it is likely going to be difficult to be a part of a community if one isn't interested in being where the people are or interested in what they are interested in.

Oh, I agree with you there.
(hence my involvement and delegation to @informationwar...)

Everyone can take their own path here and each step expands and limits opportunity in various ways simultaneously.

Again I agree, and it depends of you motivations.
I'm not here for politics or influence through playing social political games.
It's a game that I've had enough of, a long time ago..It's bores me.

Showing truths doesn't bore me, no matte if it makes me popular or not.
This, I think, adds more value to steemit in the very long term, than anything else.
...exposing the players, and making it a space for genuine people, is a great way forward....Not a financial option but an option borne of living in a world of shite people, and seeing what becomes of it.

Can you give me two examples of this in real life since, say, Roman times...?

I am part of dance communities that started with one person who taught the next and then the next because they loved dancing. Dancing in homes until there was a large enough group to move to a tiny little crappy bar and then eventually, have a school. It took years for the Salsa community in Finland to form but, it is a tight community filled with friends, lovers and strangers now and still there is very little money in it for even the teachers. Pretty much any community like this is the same.

I'm interested in writing , not administrating bureaucracies.

A choice of experience. It doesn't mean that others aren't part of communities though. Not all are based in bureaucracy though.

Showing truths doesn't bore me, no matte if it makes me popular or not.

No such thing as truth, there is your truth as you see it. Everyone takes the same position with their belief systems.

...exposing the players, and making it a space for genuine people, is a great way forward....Not a financial option but an option borne of living in a world of shite people, and seeing what becomes of it.

again, it is about what you get out of it isn't it? It is still self interest and even though it might not get a currency return, it still comes with a return.

I am part of dance communities that started with one person who taught the next and then the next because they loved dancing. Dancing in homes until there was a large enough group to move to a tiny little crappy bar and then eventually, have a school.

Again, we are misconstruing the definition of community - micro and macro perspectives do no scale up! lol.
My fault, I think.

My default setting of 'community' is from the broad view - whole societies kind of thing - probably from my historical overview of things...

No such thing as truth,

Ah! You're a postmodernist !...a position.

To argue with certainty that there is no such thing as 'absolute truth' is to make it an absolute truth claim, and is self-refuting.
The only option remaining is that absolute truth does exist.

Post modernism is based in abstract philosophy, giving equal value to everything.
It' s blatantly absurd and intellectually dishonest .

The spectrum of choices_available within the human domain precludes the all encompassing values applicable within postmodern logic.

Thus values are not arbitrary, but weighted.
Weighted values then makes any postmodernist philosophy or claim..ridiculous.
Postmodernism's attachment to Marxism, is contradictory in itself, to the max.
At last!
I do very good 'mate rates' for therapy...especially at these steemprices ! lol

Until you can know all of past, present and future, it is impossible to know all of possibility so for intents and purposes as a human, that is ridiculous to assume that truth can be known by you or by me.

So, I am glad that you have taken up your position of your belief in an all knowing being. Just use your faith in the higher power and everything will be just the way it will be. Perhaps praying for what you want will help? :P

Your love of boxing people I find silly. You can feel right though, that is your prerogative, not necessarily a truth, except to you.

I think it is really the community that keeps me coming back here. Wish I had more cash to spare otherwise I would get some more STEEM now. I might have to drop just a bit at its current price, could be really worth it soon.

Community is everything here and those who find theirs generally have a much better experience than those who stay disconnected. Same in life I presume.

In full agreement with your approach - Steem is the best and to me with higher potential as this EOS thing which I bought and have a massive loss at the moment. Might change that back for Steem soon again predicting it will be a win later. The community here is still what stands out plus the best blockchain with real DApps.

I will assume you bought the EOS with steem so potentially it isn't as great of a loss as it could be (depending at what price you bought) as EOS is still somewhat up while Steem is heavily down. Of course, this is not an ideal way to look at it as potentially there was many other ways to profit heavily. If I could have cleared EOS at the high and then bought now I would be a mid-range orca. still, it s a bit of fun with magical internet money if we chose not to take it too seriously. =)

nope - bought from ETH, bought at over $12 - change topics please :-)

What about that sports game....

Which one? We can speak about the Bayern Munich crisis, a story that includes all elements of exciting storytelling.

Anything to take your mind off 12 dollar EOS :P

forgot the EOS thing already, thanks for reminding

I'm glad I'm not the only one. I feel like I found the party of crazies like me. Go Steem!

lol, but then again, every world changer started as a minority of one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94