Money or your drugs: Firing up the alts

in #steem6 years ago

Friday evening and I am still at the office. I have been pretty busy over the last 8 weeks and am trying to catch up on all of the internal self-training items I have to cover. I am not a big fan of paperwork but, it has to be done to some degree.

20190214_154601.jpg

It has been a pretty good week so far though and I think that getting a successful training under my belt has helped build a little trust capital with my colleagues. As I have mentioned, they take their work seriously despite being very easy to get along with and for them, I am still very much a stranger or at least, an unknown quantity. I am okay with being a little unknown.

I was reading @pablopenguin's daily report on Steem activity and then @abh12345's on @drugwars and was wondering if perhaps Asher could do some analysis - to get back into the groove of working again since he has done very little for 18 months.

A few days ago the unique active accounts shot up by about 12% and while @pablopenguin thinks it is tied to the price movement of BTC and Steem, I wonder how much of it is alt accounts being used to produce Steem drugs.

@edicted was writing how they have several accounts producing contraband and I assume it is a decent strategy, especially since it is possible to get a return of some kind on zero investment. How many alts have been fired up to take part in the game? From my understanding having never played, the less spent but spent smartly will see a positive return sooner which means a player could invest across multiple accounts and still get a decent return on very little up front cost. For the accounts with the inability to buy or earn through blogging, these games are a massive lifeline.

Any ideas or is it possible to see how many of the player accounts got reactivated for @drugwars Asher? I think it would be an interesting metric to visualize and I wonder if there should be incentives to use a main account across applications rather than create alts.

One of the funny things I find with the games is how much bots are used. I understand that they are there trying to maximize profits but, where is the fun or, is maximizing profits the fun? I tried that slot machine thing the other day, it was super boring watching those things spin around and even when I won something, it felt empty. No skill needed to win is not really winning is it? Much like buying hacks for a FPS is retarded.

While not having played most of the games on Steem, I do see their attraction and I am glad that people are realising through them that Steem is and will continually become much more than a blogging platform. Content is so ambiguous but because most associate it with writing at the moment, they think narrow. Steem is multimedia and multifaceted multimedia at that, the economics adds layers of complexity beyond the borders of genre as what happens in one domain, has effects on another.

It is going to be interesting when there are hundreds of applications holding and entertaining millions of active accounts and all of them are vying for resources of different kinds, whether it be Steem from the pool, direct payment or Resource Credits for interaction, the attention economy is no longer driven solely by consumer attention as those consumers are starting to realise that there is more up for grabs than a thumbs up, star or clap.

Back to reading a few more SOPs for me.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone)

Sort:  

Any ideas or is it possible to see how many of the player accounts got reactivated for @drugwars Asher? I think it would be an interesting metric to visualize ...

Yes. How about number of accounts that have sent funds to Drugwars and never written a post?

... and I wonder if there should be incentives to use a main account across applications rather than create alts.

Steemslotgames used reputation (remember Byteball 🙈) as their metric for the amount a referrer and the referred would recieve. Players who span 100 times with a 70+ rep got 16 STEEM - a profit of 6 STEEM for the referred if you span the minimum 100 times, and 16 for the referrer! I hear this offer was taken off the table though :)

Potentially interesting fact. I'm delegating 75 SP to an alt to give it enough RCs to auto-heist (bank the drugs yo) every 3 minutes, and the RCs are slowly heading down - looks like I'll need 100 SP delegated if I want to keep the JSON transaction running that frequency.

.. perhaps Asher could do some analysis - to get back into the groove of working again since he has done very little for 18 months.

Harsh, but fair :P

As for your paperwork, I recommend filing it like this:

tenor.gif

I think 'never written' will be too strict.

I'll be waiting for some criteria :)

You are the expert.

How about haven't posted in 3 months? The price has been higher than now in that time so if price related they would have transacted.

Would also be interesting to see how many are linked by delegation from a main, posting key or exchange transaction but, that is a lot of work.

I wonder if subtracting the activated accounts gets a pretty good real user count.

Almost a 3rd have no top level post, and a quarter no post or comments at all.

Almost half have some delegation, just under a 5th have delegation and no posts or comments :)

-- 6354 Total with 'drugwars.app' Auth

-- 4130 Nothing for 2 weeks or more

-- 2800 Nothing for 3 months or more

-- 2023 No Top Level Post

-- 1688 Nothing Posted at all

-- 3172 Have delegation

-- 1534 Have delegation and no post for 3 months or more

-- 1012 Have delegation and no Post ever

So, that is pretty interesting isn't it? So there are a lot of alts (as we know) on @drugwars making a hell of a lot of transactions for once instead of staying dormant :)

Yep, and the more games arrive, the busy the network will become. That's what we want isn't it?

Has Asher done anything during the past 18 months? I wonder...:P:D

I was giving him some benefit of the doubt credits.

What's the coin Ticker for these? :P

BOTD tokens. There will be an ICO.

Hopefully I'll load up and not miss the BOTD there then 🤦‍♂️

Pulled a few pints, and delighted you all with my presence here!

Hey, want to buy some crack? I have my crack house upgrading. :)

I think the games are fun and a great addition, however, compared to non-blockchain games probably pretty simplistic.

While I am very happy they are here, and I have experimented with most of them. I don't think as an investor they add much value to my stake by themselves, as they do not provide a reason to hold steem.

I think Bob's Repair specializes in crack - Plumber's crack.

Not to hold perhaps but to generate transactions and a use case to spend. The games will increase in quality when the big gaming companies begin.

I prefer people spend Steem doing silly things rather than sell to fiat directly. :)

I love the idea that people can earn Steem and then utilize it within our own economy. Which is why the games hold value right now.

I agree. The more random ways to use Steem the better imo

Something I note about the potential profitability of drugwars.io is that military force is about to become a factor in the game. Accounts that have spent $1000s (literally, in dollars) to gain advanced states will be able to prey on accounts that have spent less, and those that have spent nothing will be the weakest in the ecosystem.

This will impact the returns attainable, both for those that invest financially, and those that have not.

For folks lacking your skill at writing, playing games may well be more profitable ways of interacting with Steem and the community. I hope the devs do provide some reasonable mechanisms that prevent the strong from simply eradicating the weak, or the game will be short lived as one player/team simply hoards all the resources (and rewards in Steem) and everyone else ragequits.

While it may not be your favorite task, do enjoy your work. Something about it must be able to viewed as pleasurable, so I hope you can view it from that perspective.

Thanks!

and those that have spent nothing will be the weakest in the ecosystem.

Noooooooo! My zero account is going to be eaten? :D

For folks lacking your skill at writing, playing games may well be more profitable ways of interacting with Steem and the community.

I think that this is just the start, trial and error.

I hope the devs do provide some reasonable mechanisms that prevent the strong from simply eradicating the weak

The devs of this game might not but perhaps in the future, there will be games with zero buy-in possible with an SMT earn from a game specific pool that can later be traded for steem if one wants but can't be brought back on platform. Would be interesting to see a decent game that requires a high level of skill to see what happens.

While it may not be your favorite task, do enjoy your work. Something about it must be able to viewed as pleasurable, so I hope you can view it from that perspective.

Yes, once they are done, I don't have to do them again for a good long while :D

I too believe that the increase in accounts have been driven by the game but also feel a shift in engagement across the ecosystem. The results of Asher’s findings will not alter my thoughts that any new account is good as there will always be opportunities to engage them across the ecosystem despite their original intent. I would have never thought I would be out and about at lunch time catching up on my feed while running my @actifit app for tokens a year ago but yet here I am!

Posted using Partiko iOS

The results of Asher’s findings will not alter my thoughts that any new account is good as there will always be opportunities to engage them across the ecosystem despite their original intent.

I agree, I don't see it as a problem and I am glad they are being put to transactional use :)

How you maintain a great balance between work, family and blogging....
Amazing!!!
Well done @tarazkp, you inspire me

Life might be busy but at least there is no time to ever be bored.

@tarazkp looking at the drugwars, i guess looking at it at the last long, it will later lose its income steem rate because each day it seems like the roi is decreasing and yet the battle is not yet enabled. As if the battle is enabled, it will reduce it more. I guess it will later fall out to just be played for fun

Congratulations @tarazkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 12000 replies. Your next target is to reach 12500 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Think bots get used for the people with the 'win at all costs" defect XD

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54