Flirting with Steem

in #steem6 years ago

Over the last couple days with Steemit Inc powering down into secure wallets, @Ned's talk of revamping Steemit.com on the PAL network and a whole lot of community FUD as per usual, I wonder, what has actually changed? Pretty much all of the events have been discussed before including large sell-offs from Steemit and the possibility of forking the ninja mine out of existence (It won't happen) so why are people so reactive to it?

Has your view of Steem changed in someway, have the applications stopped working, developers stopped developing, is the Steem blockchain dead? I seriously doubt it but of course, I could be wrong. Perhaps the difference between me and many others is that I don't mind being wrong and I even plan on it. Remember the rule, don't invest what you aren't willing to lose.

That isn't "lose partially", lost is lost, it means - completely and utterly.

While people keep buying into the FUD that is being spread, it would be interesting to know how many actually bought into Steem itself? I know that I haven't put in a huge amount of money, my Steem has nearly all been sweat equity earned over the last two years. I wish I could have done the same all of my life and been able to invest into startup industry business with nothing more than the words I can write.

Imagine if we could have earned shares in Microsoft or Apple by writing about the things we liked in the 80s. Just think, when Facebook IPO'd in 2012 it was the largest in technology and hit 104 billion in capitalization. Think about that. For 6 years people had been filling Facebook with content and building their business model for free and then when launched publicly, they had to buy in if they wanted a some kind of return on their work. People had been pouring their content onto that platform for years and then were told their work was worth 104 billion but, the work they had put in so far was worth nothing - years of updates and likes, inviting friends, photos and shares.... cold, hard cash suckers. 7 years later, the people who actually give Facebook value still don't get a return.

It is interesting I think that people tend to forget that over the last 3 years, the Steem blockchain has paid out something like 70 million Steem in rewards and a great deal of that has been sold along the way and many were selling at 7-8 dollars. Literally millions of dollars generated, distributed, sold and spent from inception. How many startups can offer that to investors who never bought in? Quite a few of the people on Steem who have any other coins likely owe it to Steem earnings too I would predict.

I was talking to some colleagues about blockchain, ICOs and investing and how so many expect to have their returns much faster than traditional startups. The company I work for has been a startup for 10 years and is now moving into a 'real' growth phase. It has 500+ employees globally. Think about the initial investors who put their faith in an idea and had the willingness to lock their stake up for a decade with no guarantees and no potential return for most of that time. It is a different world to crypto.

Yep. I don't know about you but I am prepared to lose every cent of value in my Steem in the chance that it will actually become something later and as far as I am concerned, not much has changed with the actions of Steemit Inc as, Steemit is not Steemit still. I really do hope that @ned can turn Steemit.com into a killer interface that flagships Steem but, it isn't necessary for them to do it. Just someone.

And my faith in some of the people of Steem is solid still because I know them, I have met them and they are keen on developing this space with or without Steemit Inc.

Foolish? Perhaps. But then, sure things don't have much value and, they don't make for much of an origin story to be told years later.

I like the chase, I like the flirt, I like the results. Why settle for average? Live a little.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

Same as you everything I’ve earned here has been sweat equity. Would have liked to buy in a bit but I’m too dumb to work out how. But I guess at least this way if everything crashes and burns I lose magical internet money (it was actually really magical when I made my first two cash outs...which are still the only two I have made to date) as I’m pretty sure everyone who wants to keep in touch will find another cluster to keep in touch on or stay on discord.

Seriously I think people just love drama.

Posted using Partiko iOS

But I guess at least this way if everything crashes and burns I lose magical internet money

I found that when I bought in a little (the first time last year) it made me more connected to the platform, an investor. It wasn't much but had a mental effect :D

I got a connection to the place when I started making friends (which incidentally is what keeps me active on DeviantArt, made a couple of new friends as I was on the brink of quitting as none of my old friends post anymore). But I don’t value magical paper and metal much more than magical internet money and it drives my poor partner insane 🙃

Are you going to buy in more this year?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Are you going to buy in more this year?

I am planning to, yes. =)

Yes yes and yes. As far as why people are going nuts, it's likely due to the movement of delegation removals and odd power down messages. Much of that I believe has been alleviated by actual communication. Delegations still remain removed though and that has caused some upsets as well.

Patience crypto folk, patience. (A little more wouldn't hurt anyway). Maybe people are worried that a second effort will take over if the current ship doesn't move faster. But this is still a pretty difficult space to get a solid ship running right? I don't know.

I am unsure about what sparked the delegation removals but that has happened before. I don't see those things as reliable anyway and shouldn't be counted on as a model for a business.

Patience is something that is sorely missing in this industry. I guess it does allow the stronger of hand and banked to buy in low though. Then people complain about how the strong and the banked own everything.

Right on.

I don't know about you but I am prepared to lose every cent of value in my Steem in the chance that it will actually become something later

I'm in :)

I won't lie, am confused on steem right now with steemit.inc powering down, but I will still remain active on steemit till the end because after all I have not invested what I cannot afford to lose.

Provided STINC's selloffs are not grabbed up in full by another entity, we should see a more egalitarian community as STINC's trend continues. The last stats have indicated an increase in the steem middle class during this reign of the Bear.

yep, this is the hope. I also wonder if they are taking on an investor themselves.

To be honest I did not notice any difference. I am really grateful to people who did gave me a hand after the HF20. I do not see any reason this will be a big flop since there are already so many active members over here and even more at the blockchain. It takes time and it will develop way faster since there can be learned from what other developers did.

The only thing I pity is that if you are new, not familiar with cryptocurrencies, the blockchain, etc it is very hard to find out how or what.

Just like you said/advice I only invest when and what I can afford to lose (also because I am a bad gambler anyway).

Posted using Partiko Android

The only thing I pity is that if you are new, not familiar with cryptocurrencies, the blockchain, etc it is very hard to find out how or what.

I am hoping that there will be some coming initiatives and of course the aplications to help with this aspect a lot. I will write some posts of thoughts over the next week or two perhaps.

Me too...

Posted using Partiko Android

I will keep an eye on you, thanks!

Posted using Partiko Android

Over the last couple days with Steemit Inc powering down into secure wallets

Crypto is never more secure on an exchange than your own wallet.

Depends if they want to route it somewhere else perhaps.

I want say this also .... I think we need patience...soon we see whats they was plan :)
And if I look at this whole coin market.... then I see that many are making crazy moves in this low market times, somehow in me something it says it's natural and it is expected... I think we just need that BTC start move up and this POTS stop manipulate the BTC market, So this crazy anomaly moves can stop on the all markets :)) .

The crazy moves are not so crazy, but it won't be long ;)

ok..ok :))

I think the FUD factor is based on the 2 part recipe of the power down changes in concert with the falling Steem price. Many of my friends here have stopped or reduced their writing output. I only lose my time at this point. It could be worse and we can only go up in my opinion. Thanks @tarazkp

Reducing output is fine, leaving is fine, increasing is fine. At the end of the day, we all make our own decisions and live with the consequences.

The weekend chatter made me reflect a bit but what I was really reflecting was how much more am I willing to put in and lose not whether I would leave or not. I also see it as an entrepreneurial opportunity which I don’t want to miss like I have others in the past. I am ready to become an Orca if FUD prevails as I am ready to work for making it a better place with the community; there are not many other places I have the same mindset with at this point.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I see that the next couple of months are vital, not for the life of Steem, but for the people who are here now and want to have access to opportunity to come. Reflection is never a bad thing if true to ones self, not based on the FUD of others. For me, other's fear of investment into something is a sign that it is hard for average people to accept and therefore, possibility is there.

To be entirely honest, and I may get bashed for this by many because it may hurt their belief but let’s do this.

$TEEM is fairly valued right now. Looking at the actual numbers we know, including growth potential, known encountered struggles... the actual marketcap is more than fair FOR a platform which is a total new world (crypto) and a one company having mostly led it until now. With its known struggles too.

Steem is in evolution merely past A-round. That’s a solid “market valuation” at current market.

That’s a more than often not achieved valuation at this point.

With the promised rocksDB HF the current price will be more than enough to keep the network's lights on until Bitcoin raises all boats. My estimated bottom is 6500 btc satoshi. A hunch only, not meant as financial advice. Even steem's current trading made my buy to Dolphin level a couple of months ago, at 8275 btc satoshi, slightly premature. 😎

Premature Steemulation :)

LOL!!! Exactly!!! 😆

I agree, I don't complain about price and comparing it to insane bullruns due to BTC is a little silly in my opinion. Price is meaningless in crypto at the moment, it is the projects that are important.

afaik, I don't think there are many traditional startups that have paid out so much to investors with largely zero upfront over three years, *especially in the first year.

Zero in, millions out....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64036.76
ETH 2647.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78