Developing Steem: Burning and building

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Steem is supposedly a social media and there is a lot of talk about building community, engaging and generally creating a place where people can interact and share life and, get rewarded for it. Every relationship we have has a reward associated with it although for some, that reward is a negative gain.

A destructive relationship

The ideal relationship is one where the participants live in a general cycle of win/win, where all benefit and are better off for being part of the group. My view is that a romantic relationship should be like this too, where each partner provides what is required for the other to be their best. This isn't always a straight line however and it isn't necessarily even in each moment. Sometimes, one person needs a great deal more support than the other but in general, there needs to be some balance.

If there is a long-term mismatch in resources where one takes too much while the other suffers, the relationship has become destructive, but not necessarily for both. It is possible that one person is able to grow and get exactly what they need while another shrinks away. One builds, the other is torn down.

Building a community

A community is made up of hundreds, thousands and millions of connections, various relationships that are formed for specific purpose to provide benefit. A healthy community though is one where the benefits are win/win, at least most of the time. This means that the community generally operates for the gains of all involved, even though at times there is variation between how resources are distributed.

It is pretty easy to see at Steem that the distribution of resources is imbalanced and some members of the community are rewarded far more heavily than others however, is this a problem at this stage of development? Your intuition may say yes, this is an issue but we have to look at the situation of the group at the moment, not just each individual member.

I've got wood

Imagine if we took a resource like wood which has a variety of uses, one of which is to use as a burning material for warmth. If we burn all of what we have, we might be cozy and warm but we will continually be cold unless we keep cutting down trees to burn. However, if we can trap the warmth for longer periods, less wood would need to be consumed for warmth but to do so, we would need t build some kind of shelter that keeps the warmth within which, requires wood.

If there are carpenters and builders who are able to build the shelters to trap the warmth, they should get the resources to do so but, if the resources are limited, this means that those who require the wood for warmth must go without. Of course, if they freeze to death completely, there is no more need fr the shelters but, if they feel a little of the cold while the house is built, overall the community will have the warmth trapped and will require less wood for warmth. What this means to me is that now., that wood saving can now be reallocated to building more buildings that can keep more people warm.

In my opinion, at this stage of Steem it is much more important to build houses that trap the warmth than keep everyone nice and warm. If we look at the metaphor of shelter from the elements, it is Steem Power that is the house that is able to provide warmth to the community which then leads into the main point of this article.

Can you build?

When it comes to the lion's share of resources, it should currently be going to those who are able to build, not those who need it to keep warm. This sounds rather insensitive but, for the long term health of the community, a community requires buildings that can withstand the elements, not individuals who will pack up and run at the first sign of trouble. What I mean by this is that those who are invested are generally the ones who will stick with the community while those who use it only for warmth will look for the next tree to cut down to solve their immediate problems. There are all kinds of ways to build here yet almost without question, it requires Steem Power.

I got a message the other day from some random person asking me for support to promote Steem in a third world country. I had never heard of this person and to the best of my knowledge, they had never had any interaction with me before. Yet, here they are asking for money. Literally money from what I understood from the conversation. Do you know what Steem needs now? Investment. And I told them as much. Sounds pretty harsh does't it?

I don't mind people doing their best to onboard but currently, Steem requires people to buy-in, develop the platform or at the very least, power up. The numbers joining who need it to stay warm are increasing rapidly but very few of them are building the houses that will in time keep large numbers of people warm. Right now in particular while Steem is low, investors could buy in and start building for when the bulls run again. Currently, it is becoming a vehicle for charity while there are not enough resources to be charitable without return. It is becoming a destructive relationship.

What are you investing?

In the last few weeks, the last little bit of resources my family have had been crushed out. I have been feeling the chill for two years at least now but right now, it is close to freezing point. As a result, I have been thinking about what I bring to the Steem table and whether I can change my behavior to be better suited to builders so that one day, I will have a chance to enjoy a little bit of the warmth of a fireplace.

This place does need decent content and there is a fair bit of it out there however, it is largely buried by low quality crap. People will say that quality is subjective but, that is mostly bullshit. If you haven't spent anytime reading broadly and investing in developing your content, you are likely producing shit. Writing isn't a gift, it is trained, so stop pretending that people are gifted in this world, it isn't doing you any favors.

Some people will of course say, "but my mother tongue isn't English" So? Build a community around what you are able to do. No stake there? Better get that community to power up and in time, there will be the support available so that firstly, the best creators will get rewarded and eventually, many will have a chance of some warmth. This is a global community but it is largely in English because that is where the stake lays. Have you read the Korean (KR) tag? There is stake there too obviously.

The selfish lover

Imagine you are looking for a romantic relationship, looking for a lifelong partner to live out your days. Are you attractive, what skills do you have, what are you willing to do for them, can you provide stability, be a good parent, cook, clean, take up the slack when illness strikes, do the shopping, change a light bulb, fix a squeaking door, massage shoulders after a long day, stay up with a sick child, mend socks, listen silently? You get the idea, What do you bring to the relationship?

Everyone desires a partner that provides for every whim but, how many actually think about what they themselves are bringing to the same relationship. A relationship is a community of two were the well-being of both relies on the other but, many feel they are entitled to the upside without having the down.

It is the same here. People feel they are entitled to reward and charity without ever having lifted a finger to be a part of the community by identifying what needs to be done and doing it. I split my content heavily between what I love and, what I think needs to be done and even though not everyone will agree, at least they can perhaps think a little more and find their own path to build a house for the future. This is the benefit of a community, there are many ways to develop, many skills required and, many people who will benefit when the foundations are strong.

I am tired of being cold but I am not ready to burn my trees.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

Damn, man. I read your pieces, and they usually hit the mark.
This one hit the mark and knocked the mark out of the park.

Cheers mate. Hard to get any traction on anything at the moment but, i will keep plugging away.

I agree.

Unfortunately, with the gamification of social media, it gives people more motivation to seek out what benefits most now instead of what will work best into the future.

I know that I've fallen into the trap (even though the money is more of an abstraction to me), but still fall into trying to find the tricks that will get the best "score". Subscribing to people because they regularly hit the trending page, whether or not I like the content in the hopes of curation rewards before they assign the bots.

It's a side effect of the way the system was designed... human nature being what it is.

I'm with MattC, this one is top notch.

While there are a number of us willing to build, we don't have all the resources individually. So I guess that seeking other builders and working together is the right path - and I think to some extent that this has been happening a bit more over the past few months.

I'm glad you put your wood to good use today :)

and I think to some extent that this has been happening a bit more over the past few months.

I think so too but it has to happen more and more, especially at the moment. This time is prime for building.

Actually, many see Steem as a job to generate income

although for some, that reward is a negative gain.

There are projects of many users that are not compatible and only remain as ideas that take the wind, because they do not obtain a sponsor or users use their power to vote for themselves without taking this platform even further to the goal for which it was created .
Many of us want to help, I have presented some projects in competitions, I have raised my ideas and I have not received even a positive vote big enough to execute my project.

Actually, many see Steem as a job to generate income

Yes they do. Many see it as a way to make money. There is a difference in effort invested whether as a job or as an extractor. Those that do it as a job should be driving the hardest on the platform.

I cant say I have ever looked in the 'KR' sections, as it would be gobbledygook to me. I too get direct approaches asking for this and asking for that, and I really dont know why people are incapable of writing?

Is it lack of education? this is a possibility, as we in the west take this for granted.

But then I look at people like @el-nailul who's primary language is not english but he dishes out informative content for someone like myself who knows little about his culture. Everyone has something to offer if they try.

I can't read KR either, my point is that because they have stake, their community thrives.

Education is perhaps one factor but anyone can do something to improve, most just don't.

There is also a growing Spanish community. I was only recently suggesting to a Spanish speaker that she might do better to write a good post in her mother tongue and tag it to Spanish (with a translation afterwards if she felt she needed to reach more), rather than writing something English readers struggle to understand and she's probably struggling to write.

I keep on trying to build, but it's slow work and as I try to keep home and family life on track I'm getting on here less. Your perseverance is certainly respectable. Don't forget to take some time out for yourself though, because you can't look after others if you neglect yourself.

I am trying not to burn my trees too but some of us are too low to make huge changes anyway. I have noticed people aren't posting as much especially those who get cents on their posts. I think even as there is that spirit of community, rewards can be motivating too. Problem is most people don't read to upvote, they just upvote what 'suits' their own accounts. Of late I am really trying my best to work my way somewhere... my near future demands I have a secure future.

I am tired of being cold but I am not ready to burn my trees.

A worthy statement, and when I sort my probs, I will be reinvesting back into steem. It bugs me having to strip my small amounts out of it..

Sometimes, unfortunately- if you don't burn some wood tonight, you ain't gonna wake up tomorrow. grrrrrrr.

It is hard I know but, there are 60k active users and most have decided that powering up is not possible. Everyone has their path to take. I currently feel like not waking up, life would be much easier.

Sounds like things are hitting you hard at the moment. Maybe Galen planned his trip with great timing. Will he be with you soon?

Yeah, a little rougher than the normal rough. Galen will be here in a few weeks which is good considering I haven't seen him since 2006 i think :D

That's a long time. We've only been in Australia since 2008 and I've been lucky enough that my sister has been able to visit twice.

....not good day at hospital mate?

It went okay but at the moment, nothing is over. Tomorrow is my treatment... years and years of slow crush are taking their toll physically at the very least.

Sorry to hear that, it's crap not knowing..
Gotta keep going though.. (I hate it when people say that).

...look at my 2/3 animation posts I have just done today! - they are silly enough to bring a smile...!(my first ever animation attempts in my life! lol)

actually it is a shame for me when I heard that someone from third country like mine asking and bagging this and that from you, I think they are not really understand what they are doing and they don't have enough understanding of your culture. So if they are from my country I feel sorry for that @tarazkp. But that is not our common culture to asking thing from somebody we never close or engage before. I do agree if we want to have a warm house we should try to build one for ourselves while we are in other people's shelter for temporary. And yes learn to improve our own skill is an important aspect to get there. this capabilities wont come alone without a significant learning process. thank you for this lesson

I do agree if we want to have a warm house we should try to build one for ourselves while we are in other people's shelter for temporary

If more people were building houses, we would have a city soon enough that can support a large population. At the moment, there is a townhall and a couple council properties.

I think when more people realize the importance of building city we will have many infrastructure coming soon.

Meanwhile I am building a small house at the city bolder still in the dark corner, I am planting some flower too to make myself comfort place to stay @tarazkp :D :D :D

That sounds perfect <3

We are keeping those trees until they are millions of them and sturdy too, with shoots growing under them.

Investors are the key to keeping this platform running and that is all there is to it. The more people invest by powering up or by buying steem and powering up, the more growth the platform will have.

If most people powered up half of their liquids, this place would be very different relatively fast.

I like your thought process. I think we all need to work closer together and help everyone in our individual circles. Over the last few weeks I have started to notice a small change and think that things will start to improve.

tiny steps in the right direction will add up in time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73