Promotion Bots 3: Electric Boogaloo

in #steem6 years ago

Well, I'm on my third week of promotion bots, and a lot of things that used to be mysterious are now clear.

If you like, I can share a little of what I've learned, even though most of what I've learned is that the conventional wisdom is correct.

Still, it's a pretty nuanced topic, and it might do us some good to discuss those nuances.

So let's get into it.

Discoveries

Homer Sez Original.jpg

SmartMarket (SmartSteem) is too unreliable to be of any use as a promotion service.

For monday's post (Hints #7), they returned my entire deposit without reaching a single Steemit user. Yet, despite the fact that SmartSteem was not promoting the post, it still made roughly the same amount it made when using SmartSteem + MinnowBooster, leading me to believe that MinnowBooster is doing most of the work anyway.

And while I'm pretty sure that SmartMarket has given me some significant promotion in the past, the fact remains that they're just too unreliable. I have no way of telling what kind of returns I'm going to get from them, or if I'm going to get any returns at all.

Their service, I think, is just not up to snuff. And I will not be using it from here out.

MinnowBooster Requires Strategy

The next lesson I learned is that MinnowBooster can also be a bit unpredictable, but there are ways to time it and strategize around that fact.

Minnowbooster does better than SmartMarket in a few respects, but perhaps its biggest advantage is that it lets you know beforehand what kind of upvotes you can expect, given the size of your donation.

They give this information in the form of a graph, which can be found on MinnowBooster.net

MinnowBooster graph.png

The graph, unfortunately, is not always accurate, as I have sometimes given to areas that are clearly in the green, but then had my donation returned, with a note saying that no one is currently in that range.

But even if it's not flawless, it is helpful. And, most importantly, it gives specific numeric data.

The blue line represents people who might upvote, and the green line indicates people who will reliably upvote. The ones in the higher domains will give bigger upvotes. But I have found that the quantity of voters is often more important than the quality.

Basically, it's possible to make a bigger profit by giving less SBDs to MinnowBooster.

Each of their upvoters is looking for a specific amount, and if you pick the amount with the most people, it's possible to make a bigger profit than by landing that one "big" upvoter with the bigger SBD quantity.

Of course, the bigger upvoters give bigger upvotes, so it's also possible to catch a bigger profit that way. And very rarely you will see both quantity and quality combine, and the graph shows a whole stack of bigger upvoters in one spot.

Combine this with the fact that you can use MinnowBooster more than once on a single post, and all you have to do is keep an eye on that graph throughout the day until the conditions suit your needs.

Honestly, I don't know why anyone doesn't use it.

TipU, the Most Reliable of All

This past week, I finally got a chance to try out TipU.

Tipu has two very narrow windows each day in which it is available for giving upvotes. But this timing aspect is the only real drawback. I have used TipU three times now, and every time it has come through for me, boosting my post to the point where I am guaranteed to make back the SBDs I invested in TipU.

This bot is superior to all others in the reliability factor, which perhaps makes it the most valuable of all. It has a fairly narrow donation range (0.5 SBDs to 15 SBDs), meaning that there is a cap to how much money you can make from the service. But it is still a better bet than nearly all other options.

In Summary

Let's go over it all again in brief:

  • SmartMarket is too unreliable to be useful to the Steemian looking to promote their posts. They also have other features like delegation which I have not tried, so I cannot comment on them. But their promotion service stinks.
  • MinnowBooster is also somewhat unpredictable, but it gives you the tools needed to use that unpredictability in your favor. If you've got a keen mind, you can make a hefty profit from their promotion service.
  • TipU is extremely reliable. It has an upper limit to how much it can give, but if you can catch that train, it will take you exactly where it promises to go.
  • I'm not sure how much more I can learn about this subject. Hopefully, it's enough to help you out. Thanks for reading, and keep on Steeming.

Sort:  

@talanhorne,
This seems to be an interesting subject! Coz I am getting low audience and my income drops significantly! So, I prefer do something to increase it! Will test your strategies and hope to find a best one! Thank you friend!

Cheers~

Bot's can help you to spread a message, that is worth spreading. If you have very few follower's, there is a high chance that you post will get buried in the abyss called the "new tab", if you don't make use of their services.

Thanks for explaining the graph and why my donations are returned sometimes.
I'm having problems with tipu though, I always catch it during its break periods

SmartMarket too unreliable but they return if they can't proceed. That's a good sign. Valuable Promo bot review.

@talanhorne - Sir until I read your posts I thought TipU is a service that encourage people but act as fund transfer interface between sender & receiver... Am I correct Sir...?
Are you talking about another service that provide by them Sir...?

+W+

TipU offers two kinds of services:

  1. An investment service that works kind of like delegation, except that you can ask for your funds back at any time.
  2. An upvoting service, where you can send a specific amount in SBDs and easily double that amount on the strength of TipU's upvote.

I am not aware of any fund transfer interface service. But what I have experienced with TipU has all been quite profitable.

"SmartMarket is too unreliable to be useful to the Steemian looking to promote their posts"
good says dear... thanks dear

I’m really glad you found @tipu helpfull and reliable! Thanks for all this experiments and letting us know.

Hello @talanhorne,

Extraordinary summary of your experiences with these bot programs. Incredible findings. Community needs researches like you do. Excellent article.

~@mywhale

Does tipu also upvote immediately like smartmarket and minnowbooster.
I haven't tried it out yet

If TipU is active, it will usually upvote immediately.

Sometimes, however, it will send you a note saying that your upvote will come in 20 or 30 minutes. Since TipU is such a popular service, it sometimes needs to pace itself to keep its Voting Power up.

I almost agree with you on @smartmarket. It’s almost impossible to catch them to get an upvote. The only thing great about them is when you are lucky enough to get an upvote from @smartmarket you can get it few minutes after you post, which gives you most of the curation rewards as well. With @tipu you can find out exactly when he gives an upvote and that’s what I love about him. He also gives the biggest ROI. Two times he actualy gave me 300% upvote with his add in my post which I don’t mind at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87