That Moment When A Journalist Asks You: "So You're Running A Project Backed By A Cryptocurrency?" - Here's The Recording Of My Today's Radio Interview!

in #steem6 years ago

Commitment is what transforms a promise into reality. - Abraham Lincoln

I told you that Steem is part of my DNA not only since I've been appointed @steem-ambassador, and that I'd go out and spread the word to make our blockchain become even more popular.

Today I had another great opportunity to keep my promise.

I was interviewed by Raquel Quiñones on her radio show "Buenos días, Canarias" (Good morning, Canaries), which was streamed worldwide by the biggest media station on Canary Islands: RTVC Radio Televisión Canaria.

Thank you once more @cauac (team @steemitcanarias) for making this happen!

Even though I only had a couple of minutes on the show, I was able to provide the audience with a quick overview on what the Steem network is about.

Here's how you can "sell" the Steem blockchain in 2.5 minutes! :-)

aec0683v0x.png
@surfermarly live on air: Ask me about Steem!

Hurry up, Marly!

I was actually invited to join the program at 9:50am today's morning, however I entered the show 5 minutes late.

There was a discussion among a couple of politicians going on about a new highway to be built on the neighbour island Fuerteventura, and they couldn't find and end. So that's why my entry was a bit delayed.

Luckily I've been talking about Steem for two years now which is why I'd even manage to "sell" it on a quick 'elevator pitch' :-)

It was a great gift that the host of the radio show opened our interview asking me directly about Steem. Like that I could avoid the general introduction and start talking about 'our baby' right away.

Here's the original recording of my today's interview, Tuesday 7th of August 2018 9:56am UTC+1:

Transcription:

Raquel Quiñones (RTVC):

We jump over from Fuerteventura to Lanzarote where the surfer and blogger Marlene M. is collaborating with the Red Cross Lanzarote in organizing watersports activities. This year another social project is taking place: a swim crash course. The interesting part is that it's completely financed by a cryptocurrency. Good morning, Marlene!

@surfermarly:

Good morning!

Raquel:

So how come that your project is completely financed by a cryptocurrency? Tell us about it. We don't have so much time, but please let us know in these few minutes we have.

@surfermarly:

All right, I'll be trying to explain it quickly. I think it's a quite interesting story for any social project based on Canary Islands. We're part of a social network called Steem (with the two 'e' in the middle), which is different from all other networks we already know - such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram for instance - in the sense that its users are economically rewarded for their participation in the network. To give you an example: as a surfer I share surf videos with my followers and friends in the network, then they upvote "like" my content and both I as the creator of that piece of content and they as curators are rewarded with the cryptocurrency. It's a completely new way of drawing profit not only for me as a private person but also for my project.

Raquel:

So in this case the cryptocurrency is destined for the Red Cross Lanzarote in order to organize watersports activity in summer, correct?

@surfermarly:

Exactly. We started last year offering a surf training, and this year we're cooperating with the Aqua&Sports Center in Costa Teguise which has a spectacular open air swimming pool and a team of professionals. Crypocurrencies are curriencies we can't touch, unlike other physically existing currencies we already know from our daily lives, but it's a currency you can exchange for any other. If I want to exchange it for fiat money like Euro or Dollar or any other currency I'd prefer, then I can do that and use it accordingly. As a matter of course I need to pay tax on my income - as always in life - but the profit can be used for whatever purpose, in our case a social project.

Raquel:

Marlene, unfortunately we don't have more time. Maybe we can get back to you and explain everything more in detail, even though I think we already know what's it about now.

@sufermarly:

Yes, of course I'd love to come back to the program whenever you want.

@Raquel:

This was Marlene M. surfer and blogger, the two things right?

@surfermarly:

Well I can't be blogging in the water, but I'm working on it. laughs

@Raquel:

Thanks for being with us.

I hope you guys enjoyed the quickie with me :-)

Hopefully I'll be able to come back on the show in order to provide some more information about Steem, Steemit and Fundition.

It would be great to dig a bit deeper into decentralization, tokenization of the internet, dApps and all their benefits.

Also it'd be terrific to cooperate with the television devision of Radio Televisión Canaria in the future (I hope you guys are reading this :-)) - maybe they gonna love covering our upcoming Steem Meet-Up on the isle of Gran Canaria.

By the way: Everybody who needs some sunshine, beach and steemy vibes in September is kindly invited to join us at our Canary Islands Steem Meet-Up on the 8th of September - for more information check out this post.

See you there!

Much love,
Marly -
Steem Ambassador
.
.
.

PS: For more information on my charity project visit the official account @dreamsoftheocean.

h8k8q6qssd.png
This blog was created in July 2016, aiming to provide thought-provoking content for open-minded people who go on adventure, step out of comfort zones and embrace the new.
Thanks for being part of the journey!

u63vqd930f.png

PS: This blog post was edited and submitted via eSteem Surfer 1.0.11 - my favorite Steem desktop client that was developed by @good-karma's @esteemapp team. Check out their account for more information.

Original content.

Sort:  

Sau Geil!

😊😊😊 Danke!

Nice! I am doing an event funded by steem during October in Miami and its very hard to explain to people these concepts. Glad you were able to convey your message with little time.

I guess depending on the situation and audience, you may explain blockchain technology, cryptocurrency or Steem in many different ways. Radio is a quite complicated medium in that context, since you can't show people anything, so your words need to draw the pictures :-)

Best of luck for your endeavor in Miami! Nice place, in 2012 I had the pleasure to spend twe weeks in Miami Beach (North and South) and enjoyed it to the max :-)

Wow great interview!

I had no idea you spoke spanish! Amazing work.

Thank you so much!!
Well actually I speak Spanish better than English :-D

Well by your accent I can't even tell. Again nice interview and love the hard work.

Thank you!! I was born in Germany, I guess that's what you hear in the back :-)

I couldn't think of a better ambassador!!! What a great initiative!


I just wish you had a little more time.

Thank you so much for your kind words!
I was speaking faster than a robot to at least provide them with the basics, haha
Not too bad for a start I guess, but I'd love to come back and talk a bit more...:-)

Sorry for the obsessive advertising. It is necessary to earn :)

Sorry for flagging your spam, it is necessary to keep our blockchain clean :-)

😂😂😂😎

Love the shirt, great ice breaker, ask me about Steemit. I'd add Gab, Minds, Real Video, Bitchute, News Wars, Bitcoin, Bit Torrent, to that.

Haha, that must be a big shirt though :-D
Thanks for the compliment! I actually stole the idea from @knircky who has a shirt that says "Ask me about Bitcoin" on its back :-)

Have a nice day!

Very nice to have been able to put it out there for those who don't know. I wish the interview would have a been abit longer though but I think you explained it well enough to peek some's curiosity and start the wondering process. Thanks for the post!

Of course it would've been awesome to have the full 10 minutes that we agreed on, but honestly I'm grateful for every second of on air time for Steem. I bet on Canary Islands very few have heard about cryptocurrencies already, so the constant dripping will be wearing away the stone :-)

Thanks for stopping by!

Surfer Marly is the best. #justsaying She is honest and true... that comes with freedom... A real spiritual teacher...

Hehe, sweet :-)
Thank you, @nokodemion!

Congratulations on the interview with Radio Television Canaria! I'd say you marketed steemit very well in those few minutes. I know it will boost the membership here on steemit considering its wide reach.

Thank you!!! Hopefully a couple of people will google "Steem" after the interview - that's why I even said: "with the two e in the middle" :-D

Definitely...

Nice job @surfermarly!!!
I hope Spanish version will be available soon ; )
Muchísimas gracias!!!

Thank youuuu! But the Spanish version is this one (see video) :-))

Sorry, we mean something like this short post in Spanish for the canaries.
Thanks Marly!!!!

Your short post is perfect, resteemed :-)
I've been too busy to do another one day.
Thank you and big hugs

That was a quick one! but hopefully from that someone might get curious andstart googling. Great work!

Not many cryptocurrency project can boast the empowerement of a user-initiated Charity program!! Well maybe except Ripple with Asthon Kutcher but we all know that was a marketing stunt. Love what you're doing!

I swear I haven't been bought by Steemit, Inc! :-D

Thanks for your kind words, @awesomianist! I'm pretty sure a couple of people have been googling "Steem" after the show. That's exactly why I said "Steem - with the two 'e' in the middle" ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63418.73
ETH 3094.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89