steem is for real: I will spend some $$ I´ve earned blogging on steemit tonightsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

'Your voice is worth something.' I would like to prove that. 

My friends don´t believe that the money I have earned blogging on steemit is 'for real'. That´s why I cashed out a small amount of steem in order to invite them for dinner tonight. 

7 months ago I had no idea was crypto currency was. Tonight I will pay my burger with it.  

Could that be even a way to recruit new steemit users? 

Friends recruit friends 

During the past months I have spent a lot of time on steemit. My friends started to miss me, and to compensate that I promised to invite them for dinner, paying with the money I earned blogging on steemit. They still don´t believe that the rewards I have been given are 'for real'. Tonight I will prove them wrong. 

Why not promote word-of-mouth advertisement and reward steemit users who bring their family & friends to the platform? 

From a technical point of view it could be easy to implement. New users could have the option to introduce the username of the friend who has recruited them when signing up. Like this the two user profiles would be linked. To avoid abuse (to avoid that users just sign up and then leave), the corresponding reward could be given after some time - when the new user has passed a certain reputation, for instance. Let´s say that the recruited user would have to reach a reputation of '50' until the reward (e.g. certain amount of Steem Power) for the advertiser would be released. 

tumblr-road-trip-friends-artsy-Favim.com-41309680c834.jpg

Win-win

For steemit it would be a very cheap way of advertisement. We all know that the existing community is highly committed to the platform, so supposedly a lot of users would participate in the promotion. Word-of-mouth is the best advertisement of all, supposing a very high credibility. 

For the advertisers it could be a nice additional income on steemit. This could be especially interesting for users who have still not found the perfect way of monetizing their content. 

Successful advertisers could be announced accordingly on the platform to increase their attention (extra reward) as well as the attention for the promotion. 

Room for sponsorship & affiliate marketing

The promotion could be even sponsored. Imagine that advertisers who have successfully recruited 5 new users would be given a steem voucher which they can use in an affiliated restaurant (which accepts steem as a currency): 'Get 20% off at the steemit restaurants network!'

burgers48871.jpg

I could perfectly imagine this ad including a restaurant´s brand represented on steemit. And then establishing Co-Brandings like these could lead to bring more business brands on the platform. There are infinite possibilities.... I think I´ll create a new marketing campaign idea by tomorrow! 


Now I am going to leave for dinner. Let´s see how a meal paid with steem money  really tastes...:-)
Cheers,
Marly -

PS: Just for those of you who haven´t heard/read it already: the 5th tag is working again! Full steem ahead! :)


Picture source title: http://it.123rf.com/photo_46599814_beach-brindisi-celebrazione-amicizia-summer-fun-dinner-concetto.html
Picture source friends: http://favim.com/image/4130968/
Picture source Olsen Twins: https://encrypted-tbn2.gstatic.com/

Sort:  

I bid you one suggestion for your Steem earnings: A boat and a harpoon.
Join me so we may catch and kill the mythical white beast.

That sonofabitch took my leg.

Oh so now it's my fault? You were totally invading my territory! How would you feel if some dude broke into your house and you blew his hand off with a shotgun, only for him to come back with friends and guns? Pretty sure you'd be all like, "WTF furreal??"

You didn't have to take MY LEG!!
How the hell do you have the internet, anyway? Aren't you in the ocean??

Seriously?
How the hell do you have internet? Aren't you in 1851?

Blogging for Burgers.

I like that. It's a catchy marketing gimmick. Maybe we can put something like that on the Steemit.com landing page?

Oh that would be great!!! We just needed to change the 'Olsen Twins' (famous ladies on the ad) for some other non-celebrity burger girls. Because if they found themselves in a non-approved marketing campaign, I guess I would pay them a nice indemnification until the rest of my life...:-D
I will do some other ads in the same style by tomorrow - if this specific one doesn´t work due to credits, maybe another one will.

Animal Rights Activist would start a flamewar campaign, giving free exposure to Steemit.

And I say this as a vegetarian.

Excellent! More attention/press would be fantastic for the platform! Steemit isn't getting much otherwise.

Yeah it is a great feeling. In August I started buying some things with bitcoin that I got from trading it for steem. I then got a bitpay visa card that I can charge up and I can literally buy anything with that.

I purchase stuff every week with funds earned from steemit. I don't spend a lot, but I spend some every week. It is where my personal (I want this) funds tend to come from. I've purchased clothes, food, computer parts, games, books, software, etc. It works. It is simply learning the steps to do it.

Nice to know, it's really inspiring. I am new here but I got some real inspiration from your posts @dwinblood,
Actually @surfermarly started to inspire with "steem is for real".
Thanks a lot , great inspiration indeed.

I am happy to hear that @nirvana25! That´s what a community should be about :)

Oh wow, then you are already a professional steem user!!!
I would love to have a steemit credit card some day and pay everything with it :-)

Easiest thing is to get a bitpay card (there are others)... transfer your steem/steem dollars to an exchange like poloniex, or bittrex and you can trade that for bitcoin there. You can withdraw bitcoin to charge up your bitpay visa debit card.

Sounds very easy to me! My only doubt is: I live on a small island where the technology standard is like the one you might remember from 1990 :-D Does a bitpay visa (or similar brand) allow you to pay wherever a 'normal visa' would be accepted?

I've used it just like a debit card VISA so YES. You have to go to their website... login ... click ADD FUNDS... it tells you how much bitcoin to send and the address to send it to and you do that with a withdraw from bittrex, poloniex, etc... usually takes a couple of minutes to 15 minutes to transfer... it goes DING and then you have money on your debit card.

Impressive! Thank you!!! I´ll definitely try that...

Oh I would have needed your post earlier!!! It took me two days to find out how it works :-D

Oh it is definitely real, I've purchased 27 inch monitor for myself with steem dallah just to prove others it is real. People are so strange, they just don't accept new things until it bites them in the ass :)

Haha, then let´s bite them :-))
Congrats on that monitor - and thanks for your upvote!

I just took my wife out for dinner with money I earned on a post this week.

Steemit rocks :)

Beautiful! Yeah it does :)
I´ll leave for my first steemit dinner NOW

Trust me the food will taste even better if it's purchased with steem. Enjoy !

It was very delicious, you were right! :-))

That burger is gonna taste gooooood... Enjoy :))

Thank you my friend, it´s been a blast :)

So, you finally got the money out? :D

LOL - yeah I made it!! But I think I´ll leave the rest right where it is...:-D
Again thanks for your kind assistance ;-)

Full Steem ahead :) enjoy that meal

Full Burgers ahead, haha! Thank you, it was really good :)

Great post! Enjoy the waves. :)

Tomorrow is surfing day - tonight we are going to party a bit :-)
Thanks! Glad you liked it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56836.82
ETH 2341.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41