How shall we deal with the STEEM trademark

in #steem8 years ago

Hi

I am an entrepreneur, bitcoin/blockchain early adopter and now glowing STEEM enthusiast - I am also a developer.

Naturally I have a lot of ideas what can be developed around STEEM - but I am not clear about how to name possible products and services?

Steem has (rightfully so, thanks for being professional!) secured their trademark:
http://tmsearch.uspto.gov/bin/showfield?f=doc&state=4810:evh1v1.2.2

Now we know that they have to defend their trademark at some point and doing so will have to move against anything that violates their trademark. So anything called SteemSomething will pop up in their crosshairs.

While it's simple with bitcoin - I can write a smartphone app and call it "Bitcoin Wallet" I am unsure how we developers/entrepreneurs are supposed to handle the STEEM brand.

Are there any guidelines, suggestions, debates, discussions or other sources of information that I can look at? Or hasn't the question been raised yet?

S.

Sort:  

Funny...I wanted to edit this, but I can't? Why?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57320.16
ETH 2472.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31