You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Perspective: Steem was meant to be for content creators and consumers

in #steem7 years ago

As a newcomer here, I agree that some of the voting bot shenanigans seem counter-intuitive to the purpose of the platform. However, I'm surprised to see this blog from you after seeing you downvote a Ben Swann video that is an example of the kind of content we want on Steemit. It was original, well produced, not about cryptocurrency or steemit itself. You want better content on steemit but downvote it if it doesn't agree with your world view? Do you want Steemit to be another echo chamber?

Sort:  

I downvoted that video because I think it was over-rewarded bad content. You can upvote it because you think it's good content. As simple as that.

Fair enough, but I thought the idea of the downvote was to combat spam and plagiarism. I feel like that downvote was because of disagreement with what was said. I think the vegan movement is complete bullshit, but I don't downvote their posts. I engage with them directly in comments with a counter point of view. I feel like downvoting content purely on disagreement is counter-intuitive to the message conveyed on this post. I'm not butthurt about that downvote, I'm just pointing out what I see as a conflict between what you wrote and what you did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59201.08
ETH 2515.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50