What Steemit really is all about - now stop complaining!

in #steem8 years ago

Yesterday i've written a frontpage post making about 6k. But you know what?

I DONT CARE ABOUT THE MONEY IT MADE!

alt text

What matters to me, is the number of votes i got, not the amount in dollar.

What matters to me, are the comments users left as feedback that warmed my heart and motivated me.

If you're here soley to see how many $ your article will get, you're in the wrong place.

I'll take 500 votes with 50$ over 5 votes with 500$ any day, any article.

I've just replied this on a topic complaining about whale powers, but it's a good, short post worth having it's own life. The article can be found right here

Sort:  

Coming from Reddit, posts are ordered based on the number of votes. But what makes me stick to Reddit is the ability to express my opinion, and discuss the topic with other people from around the world. That's what kicks me.

It's the same for Steemit, with the added bonus of the possibility of earning something.

That said, right now, for most people here, it is most definitely about the money earned.

Good feedback!

exactly!!
I completely agree

Thx for reading my post @vlad

Never listen to the nay sayers... Always do you no matter what! Keep Steeming #steem One Love

True wise words!

you got it :) thanks

tbh it's the same thing on the whale side .. i'm not caring about voting to get best monetary outcome, i'm upvoting what i think deserve to upvote not the other way around.

Anyway happy steeming

It seems like the majority doesn't get that part of the story yet.

I'm driven by passion, not by dollars :-) Thanks for the vote

great post you have my up-vote its not worth much but i guess you are ok with that :)

Like i said, it's not the amount in $ that matters, a vote is a vote meaning you like the post :)
Thanks for your vote

I upvoted You

So you don't care about money. You should not care about votes either. You should only care about creating what you value.

But the money and votes represent the steemit communitys ability to value your creation.

Votes value your post regardless of the money they bring along.

This is so true @steve-walschot, I'm very passionate about my country and I love the fact that through the use of this powerful platform we can place Colombia in the map, besides the monetary issue involved. I'm not an expert blogger, writer, youtuber, etc but I've found a hidden passion in writing and there's no better feeling than to let all your thoughts, emotions, ideas out and is very gratifying when people appreciate what you talk to them about through the articles. I use instagram and facebook a lot to publish pictures about my life and my country but none of them ever went past 60 likes and the day I published for the first time to the public worldwide on steemit i had about 379 uptvotes and that was a feeling I had never felt and can't describe.

Greetings from Colombia!

Thank you!

Well said sir, if this site becomes solely about just making dollars its going down the drain unfortunately. This is a blogging website yes, but people are becoming toxic when they post something and don't get whales attentions.

Greed always kills

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58239.61
ETH 2287.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50