Why I Don't Talk About My Money with Others

in #steem8 years ago

cash2c93c3.jpg

My Issue

Whenever the topic arises about my personal finances I always deflect the conversation to something else. I feel that my personal finances are my business and no one else's. My issues with having people know my finances is that they begin to assume things about me instead of judging me for the person I am, either good or bad. Also, when your finances are known to others they become apart of you. In my observation these are the 3 types of people that make it known about their financial situation.

1.) I'm Broke. Feel Sorry for Me

cash395245.jpg

We all know this person. They always seem to be down and out on their luck but all their problems are self inflicted. Typically they have a long list of reasons why they do not have enough money. They want you to know that they are broke and want you to feel sorry for them.

2.) I'm Broke but I'm a Tough Guy

cash4cce1f.jpg

In my experience, this attitude typically happens to young men or blue collar workers. They want you to know that they have very little money but they are tough. They give you a tough-guy persona but always want you to feel some type of self pitty for them.

3.) I have money and I want you to know it!

cash5f7276.jpg

cash60301a.jpg

These people will do whatever it takes for you to know that are well-off and have plenty of money. They always come across as total douche bags.

Bonus! #4) Fake it 'till you make it!

cash7Aa6e85.jpg

I can't stand these people! Usually you can see right through their disguise. In my experience these people always have plasma-white teeth and a cheesy smile. They tell you about all the junk they are going to buy or why their over priced stuff is no longer sufficient.

Conclusion

I just want people to know me for who I am. I have no interest in anyone knowing my financial situation.

You might say, "Hey Steve, you just judged these people and you don't want people to do that to you."

I acknowledge that your statement is correct. But, my prejudice is because that is the image those individuals want

Sort:  

The plasma-white teeth is funny to think about. I would rather have translucent teeth.
aliens8cc50.jpg

Isn't there a third type of person, one who seeks neither pity for their lack of wealth nor admiration for how materially successful they are, and who have achieved a state of mind in which money is just not the dominant concern?

I agree with your comment, those people are not the ones to talk about their wealth or lack of. The message I was trying to portray is about how people always use their financial situation to define themselves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56443.25
ETH 2493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23