Having difficulty explaining STEEM and STEEMIT to your family and friends, try this......."steem island"..!!

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

steem island


More often than not when I try and explain the concept of STEEM and STEEMIT to my family and friends it's like I am talking a foreign language.

I decided to come up with this ......."steem island".....and it works..!!

Since "steem island" explaining STEEM and STEEMIT is so much easier. Try it yourself, it saves a lot of time.

Basically I explain it like this....

Think of an Island or Continent, any Island or Continent and name its Currency.

You usually get something like: United States and American Dollar, United Kingdom and British Pound, or Europe and Euro.

At that point tell them a new island has been found and its called STEEM Island and on that island they have their own currency called STEEM,

At this point most people will have kept up with you.

Then tell them that this Island has factories on them and all they do is crunch DATA, massive amounts of DATA and they all use the same ENGINE called a STEEM ENGINE..!!

At this point is easy just to say that DATA goes in, a lot of DATA, and STEEM comes out, a lot of STEEM..!!

This STEEM is then used on the Island to buy and sell goods and services at shops and outlets like any other Island.

Most people at this point are still with you and haven't begun to drive you crazy.

Stick at it.

Then tell them that sometimes they may want to exchange their STEEM because they want to go on holiday so they jump on a boat taking their STEEM with them and exchange it when they arrive on a new island..!!

....and that's how STEEM is created and spent.

For the advanced friends and members of your family you can then add in things like a STEEM BANK and a BITCOIN EXCHANGE.

For the super advanced you can talk about BLOCKCHAIN but I have found in the past that most people begin to loose the will to live when you start getting to technical..!!

So there you have it....... steem island....... and we are all part of the community..!!

Should this Blog be useful I will add other features to it like Banks, Exchanges etc. 


Thanks for reading.

Stephen

Sort:  

Nice island but my friends and family will still be lost lol I've already been talking about bitcoin and 0r digital currencies f0r 2yrs plus now and they still have no clue to what is taking place;(

Haha haha funny. I know the feeling. When most in my family ask me what I have been doing, if I want some peace and quiet I just say "steemit" at that point most just leave the room..!! ;) Stephen

Shared on Twitter✔ for my followers to read. Hopefully let's try and get more to join us on "steem island"..!! Stephen
https://twitter.com/StephenPKendal/status/806563380475678720

Very interesting, will use it next time i'm having a hard time explaining it to friends :) Thank you!

Thank you. You are very welcome. I find explaining it this was the penny drops faster. Thanks again for the support. Stephen

If that doesn't work, you can try a small town...destined to become a city.

If you like in a city yourself & have a taste for urban history, you'll have a bit of fun explaining it that way. :)

Nice explanation, will definitely use it. I've managed to convince 2 friends for now, they both on Steem. @milimali @lakileo

Awesome. Keep up the good work. Bring as many as you can. Stephen

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 07. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.33 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 07 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Super! I'll try it for sure

Please do and let me know if it works. Stephen

Great concept, it has taken me over 3 years now, and my wife is just finally starting to understand very basic concepts. Very soon she may start posting on SteemIt but at the moment she has not started.

Awesome. Hope it helped. Thanks for the support. Stephen

Great description. I think that will help me a lot.

Thanks. I hope it helps. I printed it off and have it handy when I chat to people. Cheers. Stephen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67971.67
ETH 2643.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67