Hey you!! Yeah you!! DON'T POWER UP 100%!! TAKE THE 50/50 PAYOUT!!

in #steem7 years ago

I was just scrolling through the "new" feed this evening and I see a lot of people are still powering up 100% on their posts.

If the price of SBD is higher than $1, stop powering up 100% on your posts.


Now some of these people are brand new and making their first post. Hopefully soon they'll realize what the difference is and change their ways. But others seem to have a much higher reputation and are still making the same mistake.

I'm not going to get into the fine details. There are plenty of posts explaining how this is working. I'll just show you an example from my last post payout with a little bit of math thrown in.

I'm not a big earner here, never really was, and I'm okay with that. But, powering up on your posts directly is just throwing money out the window wether you're here for the money or not. It just doesn't make sense to do.

Here's my last post payout.

Post payout.png

So the post made $2.95 in total and $2.80 went to me depending on wether I powered up 100% or not. It's how it's divided up at payout time that makes the difference. I'm also not sure why the curation payout is at like 5% instead of 25% percent, but that's an issue for another post I guess.

Let's look what I would have made if I powered up 100%. Here's the price of steem right now in USD.

Steem marketcap usd.png

$2.80 payout / $4.56 PER STEEM = 0.614 STEEM


I would have received 0.614 STEEM for this post had I chose to power up 100%.

Now lets look at what I actually got paid from steemd.com

Steemd post.png

0.356 SP and 1.402 SBD


We already know the price of steem is $4.56 right so...

0.356 SP PAYOUT X $4.56 PER STEEM = $1.62 worth of STEEM


Plus lets look at Steem Dollars (SBD) now too

Sbd marketcap usd.png

1.402 SBD PAYOUT X $5.80 PER SBD = $8.1316 worth of SBD


So....

$1.62 of STEEM + $8.13 of SBD = $9.75 TOTAL PAYOUT


Okay, just stopping there you can see that just taking the 50/50 payout will yield you 348% more in USD than if you had chosen the 100% SP option. The numbers aren't completely accurate because it's been about 10 hours since payout and the price of STEEM and SBD has fluctuated a little since then, but not so much that I can't make my point.

From there you can still power up 100% using the market to sell your SBD for STEEM and then powering it up. Using these numbers as an example, you would get 2.13 SP instead of the 0.614 SP through powering up 100% initially.

Now this is for a $2.80 post. Just think about the difference of a $20, $50, $100, or $1000 post. There are some well established steemians here who get those payouts all the time. But for a lot of people, that sort of post payout only comes along on occasion, if it's even happened yet. So you don't want to have that potential earnings cut down to a fraction of what they could be because you clicked the wrong button.

Just imagine if you normally make $2 a post and you've been powering up 100%. It seems good to be making 0.5 SP a post, but then a whale comes along and gives you a nice fat upvote and boosts your last post up to $80. Without really doing the math, that could be about 40 SBD ($232) you just flushed down the toilet because you clicked the wrong button and you might not see that sort of payout again for some time. Instead of a $300 payout, you get about $75 payout because you clicked the wrong option before hitting that post button.

Don't be that guy.... or girl..... or whatever you want to call yourself.

Take the 50/50 payout until SBD goes back down to $1

Sort:  

this definitely made sense!! Resteeming this so as to aware newbies. I have never tried powering up 100% and I guess I never will. Thanks for sharing

Thanks. I hope you never have to, but it could go back there some day. I hope not, though.

i hope not too. hahaha road to $20 per sbd and steem please 😂

I actually wouldn't mind if steem went back down to 20 cents for a while. Just so I could stock up more than I did last time it was down there. Just for a little while though, not too long. Sbd can stay or go higher.

I've always taken the 50/50 payout because I've never seen $1 SBD - and I hope I never do.

Yeah I hope it never goes back. Anything could happen I guess though.

Yes I agree with you... dont power up unless if steem will be back at $1

Yes I also prefer 50/50 because it is good to have some spending power thanks @stephen.king989 for giving a valid reason!!

Steemit platforms is so nice

Good information, thank's

I'm biased of course, but I'm alwasy follwing your direction, for the most part:)

Good advice. I'll keep it in mind. I thought about increasing 100% of SDB, but I had the same concern raised in this post. Thank you

You are awesome! This post is very helpful..

Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for this information.I just tried the100% today I'll make sure to continue with the 50/50..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64