You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hardfork 20 (“Velocity”) development update

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

Thank you for the update, it looks like some positive steps to me! and one quick question based on quote below.

"the unused portion of the curation rewards will be returned to the rewards pool instead of being awarded to the author"

Does the above mean that 25% of the self upvote would be returned to the reward pool if the "upvote post" box was checked when posting?

Sort:  

Does the above mean that 25% of the self upvote would be returned to the reward pool if the "upvote post" box was checked when posting?

Exactly. Users voting before the then 15 minute mark give up a share to the author. And if the author is responsible for that to happen, his part is returned to the pool. In my opinion a great change!

It would be perfect if that checkbox for self-upvoting vanished off the face of the steemit, IMHO. Would discourage self-voting at least a bit, I think.

I think it can go for comments, but for posts it has a valid reason. In the end it is a decision by steemit in that case.

Yeah, but if you're going to make changes to the system, it makes sense to make changes to the interface as well. The "upvote post" checkbox is just... unnecessary altogether and all around.

I don't get why this box was added to the comments in the first place. Didn't this happen very recently as well?

I actually think we should encourage upvotes for comments. Not necessarily self votes, but I think comments are underrated in their importance to the platform. They should be treated at least the same way posts are.

That is a good change @reggaemuffin and @techslut although I'm not sure I agree with dis-incentivising the use of many votes spread over different posts. It makes it harder for simple single photo posts to gain traction and yet photos can sometimes speak the most words. Photojournalism is part of where my interest lies and I believe this platform could compete with the likes of Instagram instead of focusing on the long form, this also provides incentive for newsbyte style articles instead of rewarding the longer posts the most. The reduced window to 15 minutes is a step in the right direction and I hope it continues to go that way. Love your work guys, keep it up and if any of you are in Australia I would love to meet up.

Well, if you post 40 photos a day that is not really something that should get traction. If your voters only give you really small votes, maybe that says something about the photo.

I don't think that this change negatively impacts photo posts. Only if you are a spammer or low effort poster.

I agree, if you're making 40 separate posts each with one photo a piece I don't think they should gain a bunch of traction.

his beautiful postings, stop by my account and upvote him

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61620.03
ETH 3394.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50