Upvotes - what's the best way?

in #steem7 years ago

So upvoting is a phenomenon on steemit.com. Is an upvote comparable to a Facebook-Like?
In social media like facebook or youtube a like is a feedback to wether you like a certain content or not. The author gets a feedback and the google algorythm f.e. as well, since the number of likes are a ranking factor. But not only the content is commercially important, the “liker” himself(lets call him that way) gets an edit in his personal profile for personalised and therefore more effective adverts.

Upvotes.jpg
An upvote on steemit has in common, that it is a feedback as well. The significant difference as we all know is, that by giving this feedback we always make a donation in cash weather it might be big or small. Even more significant is that we could credit that cash to our own account instead.

Without asking if its morally right or wrong, we can assume that our upvote power is our own money. We control it and dont violate the rules if we decide to keep it for ourselves. Am i wrong here?

So now to the moral question. Do we really have a moral on this or is our moral just based on not to provoke others, so maximum exploit without being detected? I try to have a moral stand because i like to live my life in integrity with valueing others the same way i value myself.But I also want to maximise my profits the same as other people want too. So how do i bring those things in common.

cash.jpeg

First of all there are people where i benefit from. People like you reading my blogs, upvoting or commenting on it. That all helps my blog to develop so i have an easy time being generous to you guys. Proportional to my voting power i usually upvote someone engaging in my blog the same way i would uvpote myself. What are your thoughts on that? Do you find it alright if the author rewards himself in the comment section the same way he rewards someone commenting? Do you find it even alright not to upvote someone?

Second, there are a lot of blogs out there and its getting more each day. So for your own benefit and the benefit of the community its good to interact with others. This is what i do on a daily basis. But being interested in someones content can be a very timeconsuming thing. I mean to get engaged with others, reading their blog, give them feedback and not just a “nice blog”, “well done bro” or “great”.
So I take a mediocre approach. If i see they invest time and effort in their blog and they care about their audience, i take time as well. If they just upload 1,2 pictures with little text , ill leave a short comment.
community.jpg
The same way i behave with my upvotes and relate it to the quality of someones blogpost. If someone made already 1000bucks on a blog, i reduce my upvote. I just dont believe there are a lot of blogpost worth 1k$ or more, if there are at all.
Are you with me on that or do you think someone with a real good post should always deserve a full upvote, even though he earned a lot of money with it?

totd.jpg
How do you manage your upvote guys? Whats the best line? Do you have a line?

Sort:  

@steemboys What's your opinion on those who want to just use Steemit to make money and apparently don't give a darn about the platform? Today I got wind of a guild whose members will upvote each other. Is this new or have I just not heard of it before? And this is not like Curie, the purpose of which is to help newbies get started. It's only to make money, apparently without regard for the welfare of the Steemit platform.

My opinion on that is if people abuse the system, solutions have to be found within the steemit developer team and within the algorythm. These people exist everywhere and they unwillingly help to built a stronger platform by challenging the developers and others to give answers. The more people are involved though with steem and steemit the stronger the demand, since the supply is on a fixed rate. So for the steem marketcap i believe almost all active users regardless of their intentions are a positive thing. I recently heard of guilds as well and will investigate a bit to have a clear opinion on that, that might be an interesting blogpost.

Thank you for the thoughtful reply @steemboys Good points. Here's the post that got me thinking about this: https://steemit.com/steemtools/@cian.dafe/compounding-steemit-profit-and-the-power-of-the-guild It has two videos. Maybe you'll find them interesting. Have a great day!

The problem is with the money. The solution is thus in the same place - the money. We need to separate the investment returns from the curation returns. In other words all investors should be rewarded equally, according to the size of their investment, and curators should be rewarded according to the quality of their curation. I think investors should however retain some non-monetary priviledges, such as the ability to bump a comment (their own, or someone else’s), to the top of the list of comments.

I agree that there is a problem with curation spam designed to milk the reward system, and especially with the auto-bots which automatically upvote those with the most followers at exactly 19 minures after the post was made. What’s needed is an Ebay-like feedback system, so we can curate the curators and weight them accordingly. “How many stars do you give to each person who up-voted, and to each person who commented”. That way spam curators would not make as much as genuine curators

I like your posts, I think bigger players on this site use the power slider to keep the voting power near 80 percent. (at least thats what I would do)

I share your opinion that 1000 bucks for one post is enough, especially if the person behind it makes 2,3 post a day.

Thanks for your post, very helpful. ^^

Thanks a lot and welcome to steemit :)

Thank you! I was kind of lost till I see this post. Have a nice evening! ^^

wow.. very helpful post.. thank you

Hi Dinsha, great to hear that

Great post, very useful. So far I am still new to steemit and seem to be out of control when it comes to upvotes. It is true that they are worthy only a little for now, but I will have to apply an upvoting strategy to my steemit profile.

If youre knew on steemit it doesnt really matter. once you get 500Steempower you get a slider where you can decide to upvote between 1 and 100%

That's more fun.:) Thank you.!

i just recently bought some steem to get the 500 mark. made a video and post about it the other day. even still i upvote almot everything at 100% and my vote power is only 9% and pretty much stays that way. my vote isn't worth that much so see no reason to be stingy with it

cool post...

just kidding bro i got more to say than that lol. okay so right now my upvote is at like 9%. i figure being a minnow its not worth much anyway so no point in being stingy with it and even if i voted for myself all day its gonna make me a couple cents.

i feel my upvote is worth a lot more, even at its downpowered power, in terms of encouraging new steemit users. even if im only giving them 2 or 3 cents at least they see someone is upvoting and enjoying their content.

not only that but @brianphobos did a great post the other day telling people not to be stingy because people will notice you supporting them and many will support you in return. to me that is worth a lot more than a couple cents by keeping my upvotes.

i also agree with you that if i see someone has already earned 1,000 or more from their post i feel thats more than enough and try to go find something else thats good and not getting the attention it deserves to upvote

UPVOTE.png

Totally agree on you. I also believe generous person are more happy in life. When i thing of really greedy persons, they don't seem to be happy at all. They are driven by a false sense of security too. There is no true security in life. I would more suggest being thankful and enjoy every single day, than being rich and greedy and end up isolated because you dont trust other persons and have to protect your wealth. Good point an upvote is worth more than its financial value. Good to have you on steemit, and very good youtube channel as well.

Thanks. I'm NEW and learning, this was helpful.

Always keep learning, lots of fun on Steemit:)!

Nice post and very useful your post new steemians like me...thank yiu sharing your valuble kniwledge and experience with all steemians...keep it up post...all the best @steemboys upvoted and cheers....

Same to you thanks for passing by! Have a good day!

.thank you for your kindness...I appreciate it and I'm glad you liked it...I'm following your every post day day...i'm waiting for your next valuble post..thank alot... @steemboys

Thanks your post is very helpful for newbie like me...upvoted and followed

Welcome to steemit, enjoy blogging and the community :)

Thanks for this !! Im still trying to figure out how the whole upvote thing works myself and who and when i should do so. Keep up the informative help !!

Thanks for the compliment, yes that should be the purpose of this blog i hope im not running out of ideas. Enjoy and welcome on board

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34