You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The sadness in what was supposed to be a happy ending...Hardfork .19 is now doing harm due to some selfish people

in #steem7 years ago

I think everyone is lamenting a very easily solved problem, I have been on here pre fork and after but I'm relatively new, under a month. I had no idea up voting your own post was bad, its literally the default setting. Maybe education is the key not bemoaning that everyone is greedy, lots of us are not greedy, just learning. I am turning off the auto up vote and never have liked my own comments so no worries there. But don't call people who are learning bad and greedy it makes us feel bad, spread education it will work much better in my opinion. Thank you for posting about this it really helped me. :-)

Sort:  

I agree that better education newer people makes more sense than labeling them as being greedy. I still have not fully wrapped my mind aroundnthis latest fork, other than i have to watch my voting power.

I have seen others get nasty with newer people, when it is very clear they are still trying to figure everything out. The last thing we need on steemit is "class conflicts". I have enjoyed it here because most want to work together no matter where in the world they reside or what their culture is.

Labeling people w h o do not have all the knowledge now, but eventually they will have it, sets a negative tone that is not necessary.

Totally agree, its just not nessasary, education and a bit of patience solves this problem and makes this the best platform out there. My experience here has been amazing people are super kind, that's why his struck me weird.

If they still do not know the implication of what they are doing, it is because they do not take time to read articles pertaining it, which further proves they do not read the posts of others, but want theirs to be read

When they first start they have not had the opportunity to read everything they need. That takes time. These forks are confusing, especially to newbies. Many who end up here it is there first experience with crypto-currency. Prior to the current fork and subsequent changes I had read a number of places on Steemit on how one should up-vote themselves. With the fork I stopped doing that to conserve steempower, not because I read anywhere that it was a no-no. I still do not fully grasp the full impact of what the fork really is suppose to have accomplished. So that leads me back to: how can steemit make it clearer when they do make these changes, and make education a priority. That makes more sense than going after the minnows.

I did not now there is a auto upvote :)
I was pissed every time I was writing something I was loosing my voting power:):)😄😄

Right I had to go check after I read this! Crazy, I'm glad I read threw the post:-)

I came here to mention the literal default settings too, thanks for typing it in advance of me :D

All posts have auto upvotes, there is nothing wrong in voting your post, but when you vote your comments, it does not feel right. A friend of mine made a post, someone went there, commented on it and gave himself $100 by voting his comment, but could not upvote her post. Is that morally right?

Does it morally matter?

TO me, eh, so what. douch bags gonna douche bag. Not my problem, but i do get the other issues with rewards pool draining and all.

not the same question though. Economics and the stability of the platforms math are != to morality and i dont give a damn about morality, in this context, but i do care if my post doesnt have the chance to earn the same amount on merit with or without this Moral bs which is of no concern to me.

Nothing wrong in voting your post, just voting your comments is what seems wrong

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62324.87
ETH 2419.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65