Please...

in #steem7 years ago

This isn't something I would normally post on Steemit, but this is very near and dear to my heart.

The week of my 11th birthday, I got sick from a virus. I don't remember much from that week other than the fact that I was sick.

Over the course of the next month and a half, my life changed. At first it was just that I couldn't stand sweets. I would make Kool Aid and only add 1/2 cup of sugar in a whole gallon. Then it seemed that I could never get enough to drink. I would actually take bottles of water to bed with me at night because I would be so incredibly thirsty. Then I started wetting the bed. And then I started vomiting. No matter how much or how little I ate. Or whether or not I ate. I lost weight. I was tired all the time and felt sick all the time. By the time I was finally taken to see the doctor, my blood sugar was 300 and I weighed only 42 lbs. I was diagnosed with what was then called Juvenile Diabetes Melitus.

The name has changed a few times over the years, but basically my immune system went into overdrive and killed off the insulin producing cells on my pancreas.

The link below is to sign a petition to keep insulin affordable. I'm fortunate enough to currently have a good insurance that helps me to afford my insulin, but that was not always the case. So many of our elderly, disabled and more cannot afford the supplemental insulin that their body needs to live. This is not a medication to just make you feel better. It really is a matter of life or death. I beg you, PLEASE sign the petition and then PLEASE resteem this message. Get the word out and help keep insulin affordable!

Thank you!

https://makeinsulinaffordable.org/

Sort:  

God..... Come to australia, this wouldn't even be neccersary. Anyways, of course I'll sign. as an ex-healthpractitioner, this stuff really bothers me.

Hope you will be fine someday...

Thanks! I hope so too! They are searching for cures and we hope they find one soon :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67422.69
ETH 3492.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70