STEEM Coin Symbol - Phase 2

in #steem8 years ago

STEEM, STEEM Dollar and STEEM Power

A couple of days ago, I posted suggestions for a STEEM Coin Symbol to the community, who gave valuable feedback, and also voted for the best designs. Check out the post here:

https://steemit.com/steem/@spectral/steem-coin-symbol

I want to thank everyone in the community and not least @ned for the immense support in this endeavour! It motivated me to keep going to perfect the designs. In this post, I do three things.

1. Declare the “winners” of the design vote.

2. Propose symbol variations for the STEEM Dollar and for STEEM Power.

3. Share the source (vector) files with the community.

Winners

The community narrowed down the symbols to a select few. The two standing out were the original STEEM symbol (which had the most number of votes), and one of the inverse designs (which had the highest stake-weighted vote). I am happy with both designs, and will use them as a basis for moving forward.

I also took the advice of user @summon and decreased the size of the logo inside the circle slightly. Here are the results:

Variations for STEEM Dollar and STEEM Power

Going forward, I tried to stick to the rule of simplicity. As the saying goes: "Less is More".

Therefore; I have kept the designs as simple and minimalistic as possible while trying to perfect relative dimensions and color palette, and I do not include too many designs in the vote.

Dollar is Green, Power is Red

Please comment on your favourite design below and/or cast your vote! I will incorporate suggestions into the designs as they come up.

Alternative STEEM Power symbols

My main challenge was to select a color for STEEM Power. After playing around with purple and orange, I eventually ended up with red, as it emanates a strong message of power, which was the goal for that symbol. I did not include these in the comments, but if you prefer an alternative colour for STEEM Power, please voice it in a comment, and I will add it.

Of course, if you have some other comment or suggestion, please voice it and I will take it into consideration!

Source Vector Files (InkScape svg)

http://bitspace.no/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/steem_coin_files-phase2.zip

Please help yourself, these belong to the community!

Sort:  

how about silver for dollars and gold for power?

Interesting suggestion. The problem with Gold and Silver is that they need shine, otherwise it's just grey and yellow. So that complicates the design somewhat. I will keep it in mind, and give it a go if others want to see it as well.

I know it's not easy to make a shiny effect with vector shapes but it's doable I think

 photo 9b562a43-9144-4e60-b9fc-6059433256ed_zpsvmh6nuqt.png

I like the first green and the first purple! I think they are cool!

I liked your first ones better, they seem simpler. I think some people may like the colors but the minimalistic features of the other ones appealed to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50