What will 10$ buy you? | Aka: remember how hard it is/was to earn 80 STEEM?

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: What will 10$ buy you? | Aka: remember how hard it is/was to earn 80 STEEM?


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

2 lattes in any cafe.
2 wraps from 7/11
A train ticket for 7 zones.
35 bananas xD

35 bananas - hahaha - Nice one! I could do with 4 bananas for a week and buy STEEM with the rest :P

I need 14 - 21 bananas a week. Depending on their size xD
Breakfast 1-2 banana and a smoothie with 1 in it :D

Ha! That's a lot! I actually don't love bananas, but using some overripe ones to make pancakes is something I do from time to time :D

Thats also a good use :D

For $10 US I can get $13.2 Canadian.

That's a decent take-out lunch for one, 11 litres of regular gasoline, a pint of beer after tax and tip at a fancy bar, a bottle of okay wine at the shop, or a large bag of kitty litter 🐱

Posted using Partiko Android

We're living in pretty similar circumstances I guess :D No cat in my house though!

11 liters?? Really?

Wtf ,the price in Greece is 1.65/ lit ...thievs

It's even more here :D

It seems you can buy more for you $10 in your country than i can in Canada. But, you've got my fomo mojo whirring. I think i better get a few bucks worth of Steem! Cheers girl!! ❤

I've heard before that we have more 'spending power' here than in other countries - the amount of money you have left over after paying for rent etc is pretty nice and you can do a lot with it. So yeah :-) We pay a lot of taxes, but I guess it comes back to us in other ways.

I don't know if I have to say sorry or congratulate you on the FOMO that's whirring now! Make the best decision for you :D Cheers!

The more STEEM the better, especially if it does finally go back up one day! I think it will eventually! Yeah for sure small amounts will add up, works for me too! $10 can buy a few quality 22 oz brews if you're lucky?

Hmm 🤔 what $10 can buy?

  • One person grocery for a week
  • Cat food for 2 weeks
  • 4 cup of americano
  • 4 meal (Not fancy restaurant)
  • The 1-month electric bill for a person
  • 1 movie ticket plus popcorn
  • 4 carton of mineral water

Groceries for a week! Now that's a different story then - in that case 10$ makes a real difference :-) Thank you for sharing, pretty interesting to see what money can buy all over the world :-)

Yes it does, $10 convert to Ringgit Malaysia is RM 42.40.

It's also interesting how coffee is pretty much expensive all over the world. Only in Portugal I would be able to buy about 10 coffee for 10$ :D It's super cheap there, and for 2$ you have coffee and a small sweet cake to go with it :-)

yeah that's true, 10$ stretch for a week groceries :D,

  • or 60GB monthly internet subscription,
  • or a decent quality jacket,
  • or a healthcare subscription for two person
  • or copied three textbooks
  • or 2 coffee plus 3 snacks in a hipster cafe!

:D That's a lot! I really can't even buy a good (!) quality t-shirt for 10$ here :')

I am actually surprised if that's like a week groceries over there! I thought it was more expensive.

That's amazing , but what surprise me is how expensive feeding a cat is by comparison !!

A pretty decent bottle of wine

Posted using Partiko Android

One month of Netflix or Spotify

<3 <3

3-4 apps in the App Store that I will have stopped using in a week time

😭😭

The UK and The Netherlands are quite similar. I can get roughly about all those things here too.

Yes - not very different :-) I hear from a Spanish guy who lived in the Netherlands and now tries to survive in London (he's always complaining :')) that the trains are super expensive compared to 'here' though, so that might be 'the' difference :-)

Here in India $10 is pretty decent amount. It is sufficient to buy the grocery and vegetables for one week for me and my wife.

$10 is equivalent to electricity bill of 7 months here. However this amount is not that hard to earn. Yesterday I bought over 200 steems and used it to lease more steem power from dlease.

Wow - I love to hear that you're buying 200 STEEM even though you can do so much with 10$ in your country - makes me excited :-) Glad to hear it's not hard to earn! That's a big difference between countries too if I read through all the comments.

Nice post ! The grind is real !

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks! And yes, it definitely is! These are not the worst times to be here though :-)

If there were more easy ways to buy STEEM with fiat I bet I would by more often. Probably there is more like me. We realy need more direct links fiat to STEEM.

Bitvavo is out of reach for me.

Sorry to hear you don't have an easy gateway to STEEM! It's definitely needed to have more of those - better times will come, but the price of STEEM might not be this low anymore...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64367.46
ETH 2522.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65