The upcoming STEEM client will no longer support Windows

in #steem8 years ago

For some reason, @steemitblog didn't make a post about this, so I've decided to make this into an actual post.

Quote from the following thread complaining about windows binaries: https://steemit.com/hardfork/@cryptos/another-steem-hardfork-in-a-day-and-still-no-windows-support#@dantheman/re-cryptos-another-steem-hardfork-in-a-day-and-still-no-windows-support-20161107t143059051z

It turns out that in one of the next versions of Steem, they'll no longer be supporting Windows.

The average user probably won't ever need to run the STEEM client, but this does mean you'll need to go through additional hoops to run one if you need one, e.g. for mining.

One solution is to use my Docker Image, known as Steem in a Box. While I've never tried it on Windows, @liberosist has confirmed that it does run on Windows, allowing you to have a perfectly functional STEEM client running on Windows.


Do you like what I'm doing for STEEM/Steemit?

Vote for me to be a witness - every vote counts.

Don't forget to follow me for more like this.


Sort:  

Thanks for the FYI

I would have missed it otherwise!

Oh wow. That takes courage to quit supporting Windows. Just as much courage as it takes Apple to remove headphone jacks. But at least the client could run in a VM or under something like Docker. So I don't think it's a huge deal as I think mainly developers and witnesses would be installing it anyways.

Voted for u a while ago!

Thanks for bringing it up

Hey Someguy123 can you email me [email protected]. I had to use an old post to reach you sorry! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57959.67
ETH 2343.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44